Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Easy and simple dish to share with teenagers in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Wonderful base recipe for pierogies! I made a smaller batch - I cut the recipe down by 1/4 (1/2 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup flour) and it made 17 pierogies. For more flavor, I added a dash of salt and onion powder to the dough mix. I used an instant stovetop potato mix and added a bit of smoked gouda cheese and bacon pieces to it as well. A note to all - everything is so much easier to work with if it's chilled! Freeze the dough for at least 20 minutes and be sure to put the potatoes in the fridge until chilled. One more thing I learned in the process - if you separate and measure out the potato filling before you start working with the dough, it makes the whole process easier. I will definitely try this recipe again and perhaps try a bigger batch next time since it went so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morasaurus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love the simplicity of the dough! So much easier to work with. I make and place on a wax lined tray, then right into the freezer. Once they are solid, I portion into freezer bags. Great for a meal in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
to be honest - I just used the dough recipe - and it was simple and easy. though on the second batch I did add a bit of salt & pepper. For filling we make pirogi with various fillings - though our potato we mix sharp cheese in with the potato for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this was the easy to make and in stead of sour cream i used i cup sour milk... i stuffed them with ground sausage and potato and cheese and oinions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgpizzo
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I had not ever had a pierogi until I married my husband; and then I only bought the frozen ones from the freezer section in the grocery. The other night when looking for a side to go with the slow cooker country ribs I had made I came across this recipe. These were very easy to make and quite good! I stuffed with mashed potatoes and cheddar cheese this time, but I want to make again and try with chorizo, Mexican cheese and cilantro, among other things. The dough was easy to work with, but I think I'll add a dash of onion powder and/or some salt to it next time as it was just a tad bland. I didn't roll out the first ones thin enough and they took forever to cook and they were a bit "doughy" on the inside so be sure to roll the dough out plenty thin! I used my large biscuit cutter and that made a perfect size pierogi for us. Sorry Mrs. T but I won't be buying your frozen pierogi's anymore - these were just too easy and too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
it tasted bland so eat it with a little ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I never made pierogies before but this recipe turned out to be great and very easy to make. I added cream cheese and garlic to my mashed potatoes and I think it made for a really good flavor. I could also imagine to add shredded cheese and/or cubed ham or bacon. This will not be the first and last time I made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Ferland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very Good Very Simple add cheese if you like for taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
The Ukrainians in my family have always fried bacon and onions together to put over the pierogies - adds lots more flavor. Other than that, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States