Pierogies and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
The bacon grease upset our stomaches. Maybe, substitute it with olive oil? Otherwise, it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was delicious! Best cabbage I have ever made. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Some really liked in my family others thought it was to sweet so going down the middle with my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I didn't have bacon, so I made this with some ground beef. Very tasty! My family are all pierogi fanatics and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is on regular rotation in our house. I made it last night with 3 smoked sausage links instead of the bacon (cooking from memory, I forgot to remove the meat after browning and it overcooked, so won't forget again). We prefer using red cabbage over green, it really gives it a more complex flavor. I brown the pierogi a bit in the pan after the meat/before the cabbage, then let them finish heating by steaming them on top of the cabbage when you cover it. Excellent meal with ingredients that keep in the fridge/freezer a long time, so good for tossing together a weeknight meal. My husband always goes back for seconds, and sometimes thirds on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I left out the vinegar and sugar and most of us really liked it. My 9 year old absolutely hated the pierogies but ate everything else which is the only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Never had pierogies before, they're okay but I am not sure I would make it with cabbage again. But the cabbage mixture was excellent. I am thinking of making that as a side dish or putting pork ribs or smoked sausage on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
The bacon gave everything such a good smokey flavor! I added a little butter instead of the vegetable oil, left out the salt (there was enough in the bacon) and didn't add the sugar (we only like sweet stuff for dessert). This was easy and quick to make, will def. make again with the same modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Oh my Goodness, that was sooooo good. Followed the recipe pretty much to the letter... just didn't add the extra oil, wasn't really needed with the bacon drippings. Only had red wine vinegar but that didn't seem to hurt it any. It's five stars all the way and I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim2none

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was a great new way to combine my favorite ingredients. A few simple changes that brought rave reviews. I left out the tomatoes but I added julienned baby carrots in with the cabbage. Half way thru I added the parboiled perogies bringing them down to the pan bottom for a bit of browning. At the end I tossed 3/4 lb small shrimp in the empty pan for 2 minutes , then I returned everything to the pan for an additional 2 minutes. I will be passing this recipe around !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States