Pierogies and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a good, quick and inexpensive recipe - great as is, and perfect for tweaking to taste. I sauteed my onions before adding the cabbage, added a little more vinegar, some celery seed and lots of black pepper. I also sauteed my pierogies according to the package directions instead of boiling. The tomatoes are a great touch! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was delicious! I used a bag of cole slaw mix and the only bacon I had was pre-cooked - which I doubled the amount of. I crisped up the bacon in a pan with about a tsp of Olive Oil, then I added all the veggies to saute. I tripled the vinegar and sugar - which I used brown sugar and loved the contrasting tastes. It elevated the Peirogies and my mother devoured it! This is going to remain in my rotation for ever - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Used turkey kielbasa instead of bacon and packaged cole slaw mix, but everything else according to recipe. We loved it! Even my 3-year-old ate it. It wasn't a heavy dish with the change of kielbasa for bacon, was very colorful. The only thing I would change is I actually found it a little bland and will add more vinegar and more salt next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I liked this dish, but my family not so much. I used packaged cole slaw and didn’t change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
great with whatever vinegar you have on hand. very filling and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good. Not sure what a Pierogie is. I used what I had on hand, Torteiloni filled with Ricotta & Spinach. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was great. I used smoked sausage instead of bacon as suggested by another user. I was not very fond of pierogies before this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My husband is used to having kielbasa with his pierogies so I sliced turkey kielbasa and heated in a pan with some olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. It was delicious! We all loved it and it's healthier than the original w/bacon. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Was ok, I think I am use to the way I make pierogies with mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, green onions, and zuchinni. My husband liked it, just don't think I'll make it that way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Very good! It's nice to have something a little different. Even the kids ate it. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States