Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I had a hard time with the dough and ended up adding an extra cup of flour so I could roll it with out it sticking to everything. At first I thought I might have made a mistake when measuring the flour but I made a second batch to us up all my leftover mashed potatoes and had to add a lot of flour to that batch too... That being said the pierogis came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Love this dough! It's easy & rolls beautifully. I just made 3 batches in a row and not one problem. The other dough recipe I used to use was very unpredictable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is great. I did add some cheddar cheese to the potato filling because that is how I've been taught to make it. I was happy with the way everything turned out. If you have never made pierogi before, know this: The recipe doesn't mention that you need to add lots of flour as you knead the dough and as you pinch the pierogi together. I mean add a lottt. Otherwise the dough will be difficult to work with. As most reviewers said, to be fully appreciated pierogi are best pan fried, and served with some carmelized onions on the side. So, once you are done boiling them as directed heat some butter in a pan and brown them on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Don't know what I did wrong.?? they taste doughy.?? Followed it too a T. Can anyone think what I might of did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
just like moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Between making the fillings, letting the mashed potatoes cool, making the dough, and letting it rest in the fridge and plus this was my first time making them, it took me about three hours. They were good, especially the potato one, but I think it takes too long. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. These were delish! Haven't had homemade pierogi since my Dzia-dzia passed several years ago and although I didn't have him standing next to me during the prep, they turened out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe gives me a new appreciation for Polish grandmas. I'm not Polish but I LOVE pierogies and I wanted to try to make them myself. I give this recipe 5 stars because it is an excellent recipes but pierogies are way too time consuming for me, so I will see if my boyfriend's grandma will make this recipe for me the next time. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I've always avoided making homemade pierogi because I was afraid to work with the dough. These rolled out very nicely! I made a potato, cheddar & onion filling. Delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really like this recipe. Though I do have a tip for some people. Don't cook the perogies right away. Seal them up and then freeze them for two days. It lets them bind and are less likely to open up when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States