Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are awesome. Exactly what i hoped for and expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is more a 3.5, but didn't want to give it the lower 3 stars. THis was my first attempt at making pierogies.. the only difficulty I had was rolling out the dough. As for the filling, I like sauerkraut, but I did not like this filling at all. I ended up tossing it out and using the potato filling. And there was plenty of filling left. I used a piroshky/dumpling crimper to seal. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I've seen other recipes like this one, and they only called for 1 egg and 1/4 c of sour cream, but I figured "how can 165 people be wrong" so I gave it a go... I don't know how the other 165 people managed to make pierogies out of this, but after following the recipe to a tee, I was left with a goopy mess. I started adding 1 tbsp of flour at a time, until, 2 extra cups of flour later, I gave up. I *still* wasn't able to get it smooth enough to roll out. I'm now scraping the gooey remains off my countertop and looking for a recipe with less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe has a perfect dough and a good potato filling. I made my own fillings with different fruits for desert pierogi and a different potato recipe, but the fillings here look good too. My only suggestion is that you flip over the pierogi as they cook in the water, it lets the dough become tougher and seal to itself better. Some reviewers complained that their pierogi leaked or popped open, and having a good seal with proper boiling treatment will help to keep them from breaking open. Like many reviewers, I also pan fry mine for a few moments to brown them after they boil. I will try deep frying them to see how the dough reacts (like many Philadelphia pierogi are made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
best dough yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too much pepper and the potatoes should be whipped, mashed isn't the right texture. Allow 3 hours! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Rating for dough: Great recipe, dough turned out well, nice and tender. I used a different filling, so can't rate. Btw, they turn out surprisingly well when baked too, slightly bready--though fill well seasoned/sauced meat may be best if you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
great, easy dough. After boiling the pierogies, we put them all on a plate, and they stuck together in one big mass. Tasted great, but looked horrible. Fried it up in one big mass and cut it like a pie. Need to keep them separate as they cool after boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I had a hard time with the dough and ended up adding an extra cup of flour so I could roll it with out it sticking to everything. At first I thought I might have made a mistake when measuring the flour but I made a second batch to us up all my leftover mashed potatoes and had to add a lot of flour to that batch too... That being said the pierogis came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Love this dough! It's easy & rolls beautifully. I just made 3 batches in a row and not one problem. The other dough recipe I used to use was very unpredictable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States