Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This turned out EXCELLENT! I had TON's of left over mashed potatoes after Thanksgiving and didn't want them to go to waist. Dough came out perfect....added a little sugar to the dry mixture to sweeten it up a little bit (only about 2 tblsp). For the filling I sauteed two sweet onions in a stick of butter, added about 3 cups of left over potatoes, added 1/2 cup of bacon bits. Did a double batch and it made about 70 pierogi's (plus a couple of gigantic ones just for me! :) After stuffing and folding/crimping them, only boiled about six at a time. Once they started floating I pulled them out and set them on a drying rack. (the ones I didn't just eat). Gonna freeze most of them and then pull them out and saute them in butter before serving them up for the family at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I ended up adding a good bit more flour to be able to roll this dough out. It was sticky. Once I got it the way I wanted it, they did turn out good but huge. I think next time I will skip the baking powder as the other recipes I know to be good don't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Worked out perfectly and with that great authentic taste! I had a few people try and their eyes opening wide with the first bite told me all that I needed to know - wow factor! Thanks so much for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My Polish Grand Mother made these all the time, and she even added prunes that were soaked in hot water first before putting them into a Pierogi, talk about YUM...lol... Tab did up a great recipe here, just follow her directions...and for those maybe having a little trouble making them, try freezing them over night before you put them in the boiling water...sometimes they seal a bit better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Fantastic authentic Pierogies, and so simple to make! A great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, too! Perfect side dish for a venison roast with gravy. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Kussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love these. They remind me of holidays with my Polish relatives and I've started my own tradition by making them for Easter the last two years. Both fillings are delicious. We boil and then fry them for some extra yummy flavor and crunch. I used a pint-sized drinking class to cut out the dough - it was just about 3" across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
was very good used the dough and left over mash potatoes to make it. i dont think we will buy frozen one again. i did boil them then put in a pan to crisp up with some butter and seasonings. it was yum and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have been on a search for a pierogie that tastes like the ones from my hometown of Pittsburgh PA...having recently moved from there to East Texas..well..they don't even know what pierogies are here :(( and THIS is the recipe to give me the exact taste of home! Perfect! Thank you for posting it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was my first try at making Pierogis and they were excellent! My PICKY daughter ate 14 of them. Will definitely be making again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States