Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My Polish Grand Mother made these all the time, and she even added prunes that were soaked in hot water first before putting them into a Pierogi, talk about YUM...lol... Tab did up a great recipe here, just follow her directions...and for those maybe having a little trouble making them, try freezing them over night before you put them in the boiling water...sometimes they seal a bit better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Fantastic authentic Pierogies, and so simple to make! A great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, too! Perfect side dish for a venison roast with gravy. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love these. They remind me of holidays with my Polish relatives and I've started my own tradition by making them for Easter the last two years. Both fillings are delicious. We boil and then fry them for some extra yummy flavor and crunch. I used a pint-sized drinking class to cut out the dough - it was just about 3" across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
was very good used the dough and left over mash potatoes to make it. i dont think we will buy frozen one again. i did boil them then put in a pan to crisp up with some butter and seasonings. it was yum and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have been on a search for a pierogie that tastes like the ones from my hometown of Pittsburgh PA...having recently moved from there to East Texas..well..they don't even know what pierogies are here :(( and THIS is the recipe to give me the exact taste of home! Perfect! Thank you for posting it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was my first try at making Pierogis and they were excellent! My PICKY daughter ate 14 of them. Will definitely be making again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Thank you, this is a great recipe. It brings back good memories. The only 2 things I did differently were to use a whole milk organic plain yogurt in place of sour cream, and at the end I let them drip dry on a baking rack followed by a shallow pan fry in a cast iron pan to golden brown. When I boiled them, I did not let it boil too vigorously. I think a chunk of feta in the center of the potato filling would be a nice addition. I served them with freshly cracked black pepper, a dollop of the yogurt, and a warm lemon butter sauce. I am also curious to try a smaller version with an apricot filling and vanilla gelato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Awesome.. I have done two batches The first I did was the potatoes and cheddar cheese filling which I have done before but this time I added bacon bits.. YUMMY.. I just got done doing a batch of the kraut filing.. it turned out great as well.. tomorrow is the potatoes and onion filling. I been putting them all in the freezer as I make the batches up. This is the best dough I have ever made for pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love these! Simple recipe for the dough, and turns out wonderful. This recipe also made me 100 pierogies! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by modestxliving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States