Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I am full. These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
So much easier than you would think... The dough is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good... a little time consuming to make... My dad also commented on how peppery the potato ones were... next time I might cut back a bit on that.... over all everyone seemed to like the sauerkraut Pierogis... over all not a bad recipe if you have the time to make them.... since it did make more than one meals worth I froze the extras for a quick meal in the future... I would also like to try pan frying them in some butter and onions after they are boiled.... but great recipe thanks for submitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe tonight and it was very enjoyable but very time consuming as the recipe states. A few things threw me as a new pierogi maker. First, the dough is very, very sticky. I added extra flour to it to try to get it to be more like a bread dough which I think was the WRONG thing to do. The trick is to work on a well floured surface and keep flouring as you go. I found that since my dough was already sticky, I didn't need to water the edges when I pressed them with a fork (actually I used a pampered chef tool that came with my roller which worked better than the fork I started with). I agree that these were rather larger than what I was expecting but they were still very good. Also, my pierogi's started floating as soon as I put them in the boiling water (30 seconds or less) so I just boiled for 5 minutes, seemed to come out okay. Now that I've done it once, I think I would do better a second time and it would go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
What a bust. The dough was super sticky based on the recipe's recommendations. Then added more flour and more flour until it was finally manageable. However, when I boiled the perogies the dough was tough. Definitely not what I expected. Apparently eggs make the dough hard. I recall my mother-in-law saying she used milk instead of sour cream but unfortunately she took the recipe with her to the grave. Will need to keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Urbanik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I love the dough! It is soft and light. I don't understand why people complaint it is too sticky. You simply add more flour and the end result is amazing. I was born and raised in Poland and pierogi is one of my favorites. However, the dough is the secret, because it can often be hard if you don't pay attaention. THIS RECIPE ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. After boiling, we fried them in butter and added chopped onions and garlic - was great. We kept the lid on when we were frying them so they also got steamed, which worked well. The only think I would do differently, which was my own fault, is to make homemade sour cream mashed potatoes from scratch. I used the boxed mashed potatoes to save time, which was not bad, but when you are putting this much work into something you should just go ahead and make everything from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Pierogies are one of my very favorite foods. A year ago I could not have anything dairy so I decided to make my own version of these. I changed to butter to vegan margarine and used a dairy free sour cream (tofu product)instead of real sour cream. You could not tell it was not real dairy and they were delish! Very easy recipe to follow and the dough is very soft. Will be making these again and again. They are also the preferred choice of filling for my previous cheese loving children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Really good! Tastes soooo much better than the frozen ones! Easy way to use leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am only rating this for the dough and cooking instructions. I didn't even read the ingredients from the filling recipes, because I read the Potato, Cheese & Onion Filling recipe on this page: pittsburgh.about.com/od/recipes/r/pierogies.htm. I'm from Pittsburgh, and this sounded like how I remember mom making them when I was a kid. These are better! Wow. A real trip down memory lane, and fantastic. Chewy, crisp, buttery dough. Perfect. The filling I used is 5 medium white potatoes, diced and boiled, mixed with a large onion roughly diced and lightly sauteed with a little less than 1/2 stick of butter. Mix in about 1/2 pound of cheddar (or other) shredded cheese. Easier to work with if you let it chill for an hour or so. Not a problem if you make the filling first, since you'll take at least an hour to get to where the dough's ready to be filled anyway. Be generous when you wet the rim of the open pierogi before closing it. If your dough is dry (or too floured from rolling or crancking through a pasta machine) a little extra water will turn this extra flour into glue. Really. Without it, the flour will keep the thing from staying shut. Get them damp enough to remain shiny for a minute or so and you'll never have one pop open when you boil it. Don't be stingy with the butter when you're frying these things after you boil them. It will ensure even cooking and a more crisp outside. If the dough was too sticky, you didn't add enough flour while kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States