Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I am from a Polish family, but my grandmother was the last one to make them from scratch. I have never attempted making them before, but they turned out wonderful. I just used some leftover mashed potatoes with some pan fried onions added. I pan fried the pierogi in butter after boiling them until they floated. Perfection! A couple of things I did not realize...the dough needs a lot of flour added to it and the board to work with it. Also, the pierogi grow when you boil them...a nice surprise! I have read other reviews and I think next time I will let the dough sit for 10-15 minutes before trying to use it, and I will pinch off dough rounds instead of trying to roll out a large portion of the dough which was difficult for me as a beginner. Great recipe that allowed me to get back to my roots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Best pierogi recipe I've made so far! A few years ago two dear Polish sisters made pierogi for some friends and it was delicious! I've tried a couple of recipes but have never been able to replicate exactly what they made that day. This is the closest yet! Delicious served with sour cream. I substituted the flour for half plain flour and half wholemeal flour and also added some grated cheese to the potato filling. I am off to boil up the second batch right now! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is almost identical to my Lithuanian father-in-law's; just missing the last step. Fry them in a little butter after you boil them. It gives it just a little crunch, and the flavor is amazing!! We also omit the sauerkraut and opt for only mashed potatoes with a little cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made these last night and they were fabulous! The dough was nice and easy to work with. I let the dough rest for about 30 minutes and I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough attachment instead of kneading by hand. Worked wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
The best recipe ever. I`m Polish and had pierogi million times in my life and this is by far the best dough recipe. I made my own stuffing of sauerkraut and dried shiitake mushrooms (I couldn`t find dried porcini mushrooms which my mom used to use). I`ll definitely make them again. Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Really good. I made the dough whole wheat and would like to figure out a way to make it taste a little more savory, as whole wheat made for a thicker "crust." All in all, we all enjoyed these. I added cheese to the potato filling (I like plain, but in a family of cheese-aholics, I knew that'd be the way to go). Toasted them in a little butter after boiling, and served with sautéed apple/chicken sausage and bell peppers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I am full. These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
So much easier than you would think... The dough is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good... a little time consuming to make... My dad also commented on how peppery the potato ones were... next time I might cut back a bit on that.... over all everyone seemed to like the sauerkraut Pierogis... over all not a bad recipe if you have the time to make them.... since it did make more than one meals worth I froze the extras for a quick meal in the future... I would also like to try pan frying them in some butter and onions after they are boiled.... but great recipe thanks for submitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe tonight and it was very enjoyable but very time consuming as the recipe states. A few things threw me as a new pierogi maker. First, the dough is very, very sticky. I added extra flour to it to try to get it to be more like a bread dough which I think was the WRONG thing to do. The trick is to work on a well floured surface and keep flouring as you go. I found that since my dough was already sticky, I didn't need to water the edges when I pressed them with a fork (actually I used a pampered chef tool that came with my roller which worked better than the fork I started with). I agree that these were rather larger than what I was expecting but they were still very good. Also, my pierogi's started floating as soon as I put them in the boiling water (30 seconds or less) so I just boiled for 5 minutes, seemed to come out okay. Now that I've done it once, I think I would do better a second time and it would go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States