Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was alright. We rolled the dough out to according to the directions and it was really gooey still after being boiled for over five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious!! I made this with the "polish sausage and pierogi" recipe on this site. I will never use frozen again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I am from a Polish family, but my grandmother was the last one to make them from scratch. I have never attempted making them before, but they turned out wonderful. I just used some leftover mashed potatoes with some pan fried onions added. I pan fried the pierogi in butter after boiling them until they floated. Perfection! A couple of things I did not realize...the dough needs a lot of flour added to it and the board to work with it. Also, the pierogi grow when you boil them...a nice surprise! I have read other reviews and I think next time I will let the dough sit for 10-15 minutes before trying to use it, and I will pinch off dough rounds instead of trying to roll out a large portion of the dough which was difficult for me as a beginner. Great recipe that allowed me to get back to my roots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Best pierogi recipe I've made so far! A few years ago two dear Polish sisters made pierogi for some friends and it was delicious! I've tried a couple of recipes but have never been able to replicate exactly what they made that day. This is the closest yet! Delicious served with sour cream. I substituted the flour for half plain flour and half wholemeal flour and also added some grated cheese to the potato filling. I am off to boil up the second batch right now! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is almost identical to my Lithuanian father-in-law's; just missing the last step. Fry them in a little butter after you boil them. It gives it just a little crunch, and the flavor is amazing!! We also omit the sauerkraut and opt for only mashed potatoes with a little cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made these last night and they were fabulous! The dough was nice and easy to work with. I let the dough rest for about 30 minutes and I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough attachment instead of kneading by hand. Worked wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
The best recipe ever. I`m Polish and had pierogi million times in my life and this is by far the best dough recipe. I made my own stuffing of sauerkraut and dried shiitake mushrooms (I couldn`t find dried porcini mushrooms which my mom used to use). I`ll definitely make them again. Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Really good. I made the dough whole wheat and would like to figure out a way to make it taste a little more savory, as whole wheat made for a thicker "crust." All in all, we all enjoyed these. I added cheese to the potato filling (I like plain, but in a family of cheese-aholics, I knew that'd be the way to go). Toasted them in a little butter after boiling, and served with sautéed apple/chicken sausage and bell peppers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I am full. These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
So much easier than you would think... The dough is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States