Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Excellent. Add dill to make dillicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very easy and slightly time consuming however worth the time.My first few peirogi were inconsistently thick. After thinking for a second I realize the similarity of the dough to a pasta dough so I whipped out the pasta roller. Simply brilliant! rolled the dough to a 4 setting then cut it. EASY and consistent. I also just sauteed some diced cabbage and carrots for our filling as the sauerkraut is not accepted in my house. The sauteing after boiling adds the perfect texture. We make more after use the frozen left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I love the pierogi dough recipe. This now replaces my dough recipe that I have made for years. It is abit wet at the start but once you roll it out with flour it handles beautifully. I fried some bacon (5 pieces with the onions when I made the sauerkraut perogies. I also added sharp cheddar (4 oz) and 1/4 cup sour cream to the potato filling. All in all an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The dough was easy to work with and had a great flavor. I made my own filling. The only issue I had was freezing them-even though I coated them with butter first they still stuck together. Next time I will use my foodsaver to keep them from touching when I freeze them. Overall a very good recipe and easy enough for a first-timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was alright. We rolled the dough out to according to the directions and it was really gooey still after being boiled for over five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious!! I made this with the "polish sausage and pierogi" recipe on this site. I will never use frozen again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I am from a Polish family, but my grandmother was the last one to make them from scratch. I have never attempted making them before, but they turned out wonderful. I just used some leftover mashed potatoes with some pan fried onions added. I pan fried the pierogi in butter after boiling them until they floated. Perfection! A couple of things I did not realize...the dough needs a lot of flour added to it and the board to work with it. Also, the pierogi grow when you boil them...a nice surprise! I have read other reviews and I think next time I will let the dough sit for 10-15 minutes before trying to use it, and I will pinch off dough rounds instead of trying to roll out a large portion of the dough which was difficult for me as a beginner. Great recipe that allowed me to get back to my roots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Best pierogi recipe I've made so far! A few years ago two dear Polish sisters made pierogi for some friends and it was delicious! I've tried a couple of recipes but have never been able to replicate exactly what they made that day. This is the closest yet! Delicious served with sour cream. I substituted the flour for half plain flour and half wholemeal flour and also added some grated cheese to the potato filling. I am off to boil up the second batch right now! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is almost identical to my Lithuanian father-in-law's; just missing the last step. Fry them in a little butter after you boil them. It gives it just a little crunch, and the flavor is amazing!! We also omit the sauerkraut and opt for only mashed potatoes with a little cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made these last night and they were fabulous! The dough was nice and easy to work with. I let the dough rest for about 30 minutes and I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough attachment instead of kneading by hand. Worked wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States