Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
great dough recipe make sure to let it rest before rolling. Used Sauerkraut Filling for Pierogi & Cottage Cheese pierogi recipes from this site for the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Thank you!!! I did not boil but put in a pan and fried them. Everyone, 3 kids and husband, liked them and everyone is picky. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I am only rating the dough because I made my own sauerkraut filling. This recipe is pretty good but nothing spectacular. Although I don't know what more I should be expecting because all pierogi dough seems to be bland and masked by the taste of the filling. I agree with the other reviewers.... the dough is very sticky and there is no way you can knead it without adding more flour. I probably added 1-1/2 cups of additional flour as well as more for rolling out. Once I did this, it actually came together very well and was very easy to roll out. I used a 3.5" glass to cut out circles and it yielded way more than the 12 pierogis the recipe states. I got about 36 good size pierogis. I'll probably keep trying different recipes to see if there are any better ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This dough is the best! It's so tender. I find I have to add more flour because it's too sticky. I cheat and make mine in a bread machine on the dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were okay but nothing like the ones I would buy from the Polish women at the Church. The filling was good but the dough was too fluffy and bread like. The ones I used to eat were more like a thick pasta. I don't know much about making any kind of dough but if anyone can recommend a way to make it more pasta like, I'd appreciate it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought these were very easy to make...although very time consuming. I followed the recipe exactly but found it to be a little bit bland. I would rather save the time and buy the frozen ones. I am not sure what this recipe needs but the I think that the dough needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNA'S MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairlawn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These were awesome. It makes a whole lot more than 12 as the recipe suggest. Cheap and easy to make, but a little time consuming. I added sausage(sliced and chopped very small) and they tasted just like this meal I make for myself. My hubby says he doesn't like saurkraut because its cabbage but I'm gonna trick him into trying one and see if he likes it =) Thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Froggy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good and easy. My moms recipe which I misplaced was much more technical in the dough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These are the best!! Years ago I used to buy them from a church that made them every Saturday to raise money. Since I moved I've been looking for a recipe that had the same "Old World" taste. My search is over!! Make extras and freeze them for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
These are fabulous--lots of work but well worth it. Reminds me of the pierogis my elderly Polish neighbor used to bring to us---YUMMY. Lots of work--take others' advice and make the filings the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States