Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Results were delicious, but the time needed to make this was way off, or I did something drastically wrong. It took me more than 3 hours to complete this recipe. Recipe yielded 45 chinese-dumpling sized pierogi dumplings. Here is my approximate time breakdown: 30 minutes for the mashed potato filling (including boiling the water and cooking the potatoes), 5-6 minutes for the sauerkraut filling, 2 hrs for the dough, 30 minutes for rolling, cutting and assembly, and finally, 15-20 minutes for boiling. Suggestions - make when you have left over mashed potatoes on hand, and modify the dough recipe. Use either 1/4-1/2c more flour, or only 2 eggs. Dough was way too wet and took forever (almost 2 hours) to knead into a stretchy dough-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
At first I wondered why some members said this was a time consuming recipe, but by the time I was finished I understood what they were talking about! But so much worth the effort!! When I first boiled the pierogi before I fried them in butter I wasn't too impressed with the dough texture (like overcooked/mushy pasta) but after I fried them they were wonderful! Even better when I fried ones that I had rubbed with butter and froze first. I can never go back to the frozen store bought brand again!! I used a potato, cheddar cheese and vidalia onion filling, and made additional ones with strawberries and fresh peaches that I sauted in butter and added a little corn starch and water to thicken the filling. I served these with whipped cream on top and couldn't believe that my picky nieces loved them. Tasted very much like crepes but with a thicker dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. It's wonderful to introduce my children to these Polish classics that my Great-Grandmother used to make. You can buy them in stores - but homemade is always the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. A couple of things--i did find that more flour was needed, and this made more like 50 pierogi rather than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The dough is certainly more of a dumpling. The size looks like a normal pierogi until they boil. They are the largest pierogis I've ever seen. Be sure to stuff enough filling inside, wetting and sealing the edges as you go. I would add more salt to this recipe, and when you fry them, add some fresh bacon bits. The flavour will set into the dough. Yum!! Also, since pierogis are always such an undertaking, I would double the recipe. You can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I finally found the recipe for pierogi dough, and this is it!!! I used blueberries for filling, and they turned out fantastic. I froze most of the pierogi as sugggested by previous reviews. I will definitely make these again, and I'm sending the recipe to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I thought the receipe was good but not great. I thought the dough was a bit dry and the filling a bit loose compared to the filling my grandmother, mother and my friend's mother use. My grandmother and mother used Farmer's cheese in the potato filling but I can't get it where I live so I substitute cottage cheese and find that I like the addition of the cheese better than the Potato filling listed. As far as the dough was concerned, I don't use sour cream, I use 1/3 c water for my liquid, 2 eggs, salt, no baking powder and find it makes a good medium-soft dough. I put it in a plastic bag so it won’t dry out, if I'm not going to use it right away, after I've kneeded it. When ready to assemble I divide dough in half. On a floured board (surface) roll out each half to about 1/8” roll and cut in ¾ in pieces and flatten with my hand, insert the potato/cheese filling and crimp it around the edges. My grandmother used to roll out the dough and use a glass to cut circles to ensure a more uniform size. For the potato mix, I peel and cook 5 potatoes. Mash and add ¼ stick of margarine and ½ large onion that has been sautéed in butter and 4 oz of small curd cottage cheese and cooled in the refrigerator until it is a bit stiff. I am always looking for a bettr one though so enjoy trying all submissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I only used the dough portion from this recipe. Been making these for many years and have many, many recipes from famliy from Poland and all over. This dough was so easy to work with, not sticky. Rolled out, cooked and froze well. Just remember to roll the dough to your preferred thickness. It expands when you cook them - like pasta. Also pop it in the fridge to let it chill and stiffen up a bit. I've made it the day before. I'm still using the traditional farmer cheese/potato filling. A trick I have found to make a "fluffier" middle is to DRAIN the potatos well then put them thr. a ricer. Then mix minimially. I will be using this recipe next time! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My mom recently passed away and took her pierogi recipe with her. I tried this recipe - and it was hers! She usually used farmer cheese in her potato and cheese recipe. I also experimented with fruit filled pierogi (my mom never made these, my grandmother always did) and I used canned prune filling for some and apple pie filling (fairly well drained)for another batch, and they tasted just like my grandmother made. Then I went one step further, and sauteed the fruit pierogi in unsalted butter and brown sugar, and served them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. WHEW! What a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
great dough recipe make sure to let it rest before rolling. Used Sauerkraut Filling for Pierogi & Cottage Cheese pierogi recipes from this site for the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States