Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. A couple of things--i did find that more flour was needed, and this made more like 50 pierogi rather than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The dough is certainly more of a dumpling. The size looks like a normal pierogi until they boil. They are the largest pierogis I've ever seen. Be sure to stuff enough filling inside, wetting and sealing the edges as you go. I would add more salt to this recipe, and when you fry them, add some fresh bacon bits. The flavour will set into the dough. Yum!! Also, since pierogis are always such an undertaking, I would double the recipe. You can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I finally found the recipe for pierogi dough, and this is it!!! I used blueberries for filling, and they turned out fantastic. I froze most of the pierogi as sugggested by previous reviews. I will definitely make these again, and I'm sending the recipe to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I thought the receipe was good but not great. I thought the dough was a bit dry and the filling a bit loose compared to the filling my grandmother, mother and my friend's mother use. My grandmother and mother used Farmer's cheese in the potato filling but I can't get it where I live so I substitute cottage cheese and find that I like the addition of the cheese better than the Potato filling listed. As far as the dough was concerned, I don't use sour cream, I use 1/3 c water for my liquid, 2 eggs, salt, no baking powder and find it makes a good medium-soft dough. I put it in a plastic bag so it won’t dry out, if I'm not going to use it right away, after I've kneeded it. When ready to assemble I divide dough in half. On a floured board (surface) roll out each half to about 1/8” roll and cut in ¾ in pieces and flatten with my hand, insert the potato/cheese filling and crimp it around the edges. My grandmother used to roll out the dough and use a glass to cut circles to ensure a more uniform size. For the potato mix, I peel and cook 5 potatoes. Mash and add ¼ stick of margarine and ½ large onion that has been sautéed in butter and 4 oz of small curd cottage cheese and cooled in the refrigerator until it is a bit stiff. I am always looking for a bettr one though so enjoy trying all submissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I only used the dough portion from this recipe. Been making these for many years and have many, many recipes from famliy from Poland and all over. This dough was so easy to work with, not sticky. Rolled out, cooked and froze well. Just remember to roll the dough to your preferred thickness. It expands when you cook them - like pasta. Also pop it in the fridge to let it chill and stiffen up a bit. I've made it the day before. I'm still using the traditional farmer cheese/potato filling. A trick I have found to make a "fluffier" middle is to DRAIN the potatos well then put them thr. a ricer. Then mix minimially. I will be using this recipe next time! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My mom recently passed away and took her pierogi recipe with her. I tried this recipe - and it was hers! She usually used farmer cheese in her potato and cheese recipe. I also experimented with fruit filled pierogi (my mom never made these, my grandmother always did) and I used canned prune filling for some and apple pie filling (fairly well drained)for another batch, and they tasted just like my grandmother made. Then I went one step further, and sauteed the fruit pierogi in unsalted butter and brown sugar, and served them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. WHEW! What a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
great dough recipe make sure to let it rest before rolling. Used Sauerkraut Filling for Pierogi & Cottage Cheese pierogi recipes from this site for the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Thank you!!! I did not boil but put in a pan and fried them. Everyone, 3 kids and husband, liked them and everyone is picky. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I am only rating the dough because I made my own sauerkraut filling. This recipe is pretty good but nothing spectacular. Although I don't know what more I should be expecting because all pierogi dough seems to be bland and masked by the taste of the filling. I agree with the other reviewers.... the dough is very sticky and there is no way you can knead it without adding more flour. I probably added 1-1/2 cups of additional flour as well as more for rolling out. Once I did this, it actually came together very well and was very easy to roll out. I used a 3.5" glass to cut out circles and it yielded way more than the 12 pierogis the recipe states. I got about 36 good size pierogis. I'll probably keep trying different recipes to see if there are any better ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This dough is the best! It's so tender. I find I have to add more flour because it's too sticky. I cheat and make mine in a bread machine on the dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States