Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I used this recipe for the dough only, I filled mine with mashed potatoes mixed with butter, milk, cottage cheese, cheddar cheese and salt. After boiling I pan fried them and served with fried onions and sour cream. This made an enormous batch and I have enough left over to freeze for at least 2 other meals for my family of 5. The only problem I had was that after I boiled them, I put them into a bowl until I could fry them and they really stuck together. I won't make that mistake again the next time - and there will be a next time. When I make them again I will be sure to lay them out flat on a cookie sheet while waiting to fry in butter. Amazing recipe. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Oh no! Eggs will make the dough harder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This review is based on the dough only. I found it to be almost perfect, however i had to add quite a bit more flour to the dough when i was kneeding it to make sure it was not sticking to my hands or to the floured counter. Also, I would suggest rolling it out a little thicker than 1/8 inch, and probabilly use a larger circle cut out to make filling easier and fit more in. other then that it was exactally what i was looking for, i have tried other doughs before and they always turn out more like a pasta. this was awesome, with my mashed potato stuffing (herb and garlic cream cheese, sour cream, copped bacon, butter, a little milk, shredded cheese and pepper ) they turned out perfect with a 4 minute boiling time and then i fried them in a pan to brown and crisp up eaach side. I will definatley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*~Bunny~*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My review is only for the dough, since I used a different filling for the pierogies. The dough was much too sticky, and I needed almost another cup of flour before it was of a consistency that could be handled. After boiling the pierogies, I browned them in butter and olive oil, which gave them a nice crispy texture where they touched the pan, but kept a softer texture on the rest of them. I topped the pierogies with some onion sauteed in butter, and a little crumbled crisp bacon. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Awesome! After boiling I pan fry in butter and onions then dollop sour cream on top (it melts in and creates a "sauce"). They freeze well too (before boiling laid out on a cookie sheet then tossed in a freezer bag. ( I use suarkraut/suarkraut potato mix filling add cheese sometimes... whatever leftovers I have but always with some saurkraut for a sour note) when I don't feel like making too many (lazy) I make HUGE ones using a small bowl as a "cookie cutter" and it works too very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe and surprised by all of its 4- and 5-star reviews. First, the dough was extremely sticky. Although I am skeptical of recipe testers who alter recipes then review them, I absolutely had to add more flour than the recipe called for in order for the dough to be workable. I ended up adding a whole extra cup of flour and still needed more to flour my surface and rolling pin. (The humidity level here is 59% today in the VI where I work with windows open, that may have had an effect?). I made both the dough and the potato mixture in advance and let them refrigerate for a few hours before rolling the dough and assembling. After boiling my first batch for about five minutes, the edges were still uncooked. I do not agree with the recipe's suggestion to roll the dough to 1/2"-1/8". A half inch is WAY too thick. I would suggest rolling to 1/8" or less so that the dumpling cooks evenly. I did taste at this point and the pierogi did taste good (except for the edge), but for more flavor, I decided to saute them in a bit of butter with sliced onions. The fillings were very good. Next time I will try a different dough recipe and make it in the bread machine, then make sure to roll the dough thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been looking for a successful pierogi recipe for ages - and this it! it's very forgiving too, so if you add too much of the wet, a little more flour will make it perfect. I used my favorite filling - potatoes boiled with onion and mashed with a touch of milk and butter with sharp cheddar. Few things: 1. Be sure to cool the filling well or it'll melt the dough and I don't care for boiled pierogi - so I boil then immediately saute it in butter. 2. They freeze wonderfully too - just boil and drain, then lay out on a tray to freeze. Once frozen - store in Ziploc!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I am giving it 4 stars because my daughter and husband loved these. I didn't care for them (2 stars). They are time consuming to make, but not difficult. The only suggestion I would make is to cut down on the salt in the potato filling. I get the idea that if you like Pierogi, you will love this recipe. I guess I don't, but my family really did love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
TAB: THANK YOU for sharing your family recipe. I wouldn't! These were simply astonishing! Definitely worth the (considerable) effort. Didn't do a thing different and I wouldn't do a thing different. Thank you and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I tried making these yesterday but used my own fillings.The dough worked perfectly.They were so good.If I have a complaint it would be that we almost ate them all in one sitting.I saw a kind of negative review.You can eat pierogies just blanched like that.They're going to be kind of gooey like that.To me they're not done at that point.My grandmother always sauteed hers in butter until they were nice and golden brown on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States