Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Awesome! After boiling I pan fry in butter and onions then dollop sour cream on top (it melts in and creates a "sauce"). They freeze well too (before boiling laid out on a cookie sheet then tossed in a freezer bag. ( I use suarkraut/suarkraut potato mix filling add cheese sometimes... whatever leftovers I have but always with some saurkraut for a sour note) when I don't feel like making too many (lazy) I make HUGE ones using a small bowl as a "cookie cutter" and it works too very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe and surprised by all of its 4- and 5-star reviews. First, the dough was extremely sticky. Although I am skeptical of recipe testers who alter recipes then review them, I absolutely had to add more flour than the recipe called for in order for the dough to be workable. I ended up adding a whole extra cup of flour and still needed more to flour my surface and rolling pin. (The humidity level here is 59% today in the VI where I work with windows open, that may have had an effect?). I made both the dough and the potato mixture in advance and let them refrigerate for a few hours before rolling the dough and assembling. After boiling my first batch for about five minutes, the edges were still uncooked. I do not agree with the recipe's suggestion to roll the dough to 1/2"-1/8". A half inch is WAY too thick. I would suggest rolling to 1/8" or less so that the dumpling cooks evenly. I did taste at this point and the pierogi did taste good (except for the edge), but for more flavor, I decided to saute them in a bit of butter with sliced onions. The fillings were very good. Next time I will try a different dough recipe and make it in the bread machine, then make sure to roll the dough thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been looking for a successful pierogi recipe for ages - and this it! it's very forgiving too, so if you add too much of the wet, a little more flour will make it perfect. I used my favorite filling - potatoes boiled with onion and mashed with a touch of milk and butter with sharp cheddar. Few things: 1. Be sure to cool the filling well or it'll melt the dough and I don't care for boiled pierogi - so I boil then immediately saute it in butter. 2. They freeze wonderfully too - just boil and drain, then lay out on a tray to freeze. Once frozen - store in Ziploc!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I am giving it 4 stars because my daughter and husband loved these. I didn't care for them (2 stars). They are time consuming to make, but not difficult. The only suggestion I would make is to cut down on the salt in the potato filling. I get the idea that if you like Pierogi, you will love this recipe. I guess I don't, but my family really did love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
TAB: THANK YOU for sharing your family recipe. I wouldn't! These were simply astonishing! Definitely worth the (considerable) effort. Didn't do a thing different and I wouldn't do a thing different. Thank you and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I tried making these yesterday but used my own fillings.The dough worked perfectly.They were so good.If I have a complaint it would be that we almost ate them all in one sitting.I saw a kind of negative review.You can eat pierogies just blanched like that.They're going to be kind of gooey like that.To me they're not done at that point.My grandmother always sauteed hers in butter until they were nice and golden brown on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Yummy....sooo much better than store bought...but definately more time consuming. I made the dough as is, probably added 3Tbsp of flour while kneeding, which took maybe 20 minutes. Didn't make the sauerkraut cause hubby was having tummy problems and that irratates it (tmi, i know). As far as the potato filling, I used a bag of instant mashed potatoes (four cheese), added some cheddar/jack cheese, sauteed onions, some garlic, and a little bit of cooked bacon. Made approx 33 dumplings, froze on a wax paper lined cookie sheet for about 1hr. Boiled half in salted water for about 5 minutes (put away other half for later date), then of course you MUST saute with butter an onions. Top with sour cream...yum, Yum, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This took 1.5 hrs to make from start to finish. Very good! Used some cottage cheese, sharp cheese, 5 boiled potatoes and salt and pepper for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I actually filled it with meat and baked it. It came out just as crispy and was incredible. Stuffed it with ground beef and cheese. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JHensley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
These were good. The dough cooked up to be puffy and I found the dough stuck together, no problems with them falling apart. I also fried them a bit to give them a crispy outside. The flavour was bland, so I might follow some suggestions of stuff to add to filling. The only problem I had was I think I over kneaded the dough and it became too hard to roll out and so I wasted about half the dough; however, I still got 16 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States