Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Can you use Greek Yogurt instead of Sour Cream in the dough mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I used the dough from this recipe to make cheese pierogi and it was delicious! Big hit with my Polish family. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
These are awesome. The first time I made them they turned out really well. The second time I created a gooey mess and wasn't sure what I did wrong. The third time they were great again and I realized - make sure the filling cools down to room temp (or colder) before putting it in the dough. Hot filling made the dough wet, gooey and messy. I also found that I needed to liberally flour the rolling pin and the surface I was rolling it out on. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I had not tried a pierogi before, so I am not sure what I expected, but for the time I invested, I expected a lot more. I found the dough tough and the fillings rather bland. Disappointing for me, but husband and kids did enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used this recipe for the dough only and followed directions exactly. I was very pleased with dough texture while making dough, rolling it out, and stuffing pierogis (individually, by hand). Very tender and easy to work with. Upon boiling, many pierogis took on water, which was disappointing to say the least and the first time I've had this particular problem. Next time I will try a press and see if I get better results, as the cooked dough was excellent, and exactly what I was looking for taste and texture wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe is by far the best one I have tried for Pierogi. A couple of helpful tips as working with the dough can be a challenge. I use the recipe measurements exactly and then let the dough sit for about 20 minutes. After that if it is still very wet and sticky I will add a little more flour and knead it in to make it to where its still sticky but not clinging to everything. Roll it out thick and cut circles using a pint glass and then roll those circles out a little more (Don't make them too thin!) After adding the filling you absolutely need to wet the inside edge of the dough all the way around, this will help seal them. After wetting the dough fold them over and press down on BOTH sides with the tines of a fork. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Glass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Five stars for the dough although I used my Polish Grandmother's traditional filling recipes for potato and cheese, cabbage and prune which are quite different than this one. The dough is awesome and very easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I've made this quite a few times for my family and they absolutely love it and request it. I usually change recipes to my own taste but I follow this recipe to a t. It's perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These came out wonderful! Used quite a bit more flour when kneading. Also I only had bread flour available which worked perfect. Had no sour cream so I used Greek yogurt. Had quite a bit of filling left over, I wanted my husband to try because he never eats pierogi so I added a little bacon and cheese with the potato. He really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States