Pierogi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
They were perfect and easy to make! You can also mix it up with your fillings for the center. I made several from this recipe so I froze the extra and they turned out fine from the freezer. I like to cook mine in a skillet with butter and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's delicios! All the family enjoyed them. But they are pierozhki, not pierogi. Pierog is a big thing - like a cake. You make just one and you use the whole dish or pan for it. There are meat pierogi, vegetable pierogi and sweet ones. I just wanted you to know. It's a common mistake for non-Russian cookers to confuse these terms. Pierog is big like a cake, pierozhki are little and you make a lot of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irkutsk, Irkutsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I don't know if this one was user error or the recipe...but I had so much trouble with the dough that I gave up after getting about half done. Perhaps it's just being a novice at pierogi making, so, honestly, I may try again sometime (should I forget the massive headache it gave me the first time around). I prefer not failing at recipes so there is a good chance this one will get another looksee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
First, one thing that I absolutely hate about this recipe is the fact that the submitter gives you no idea at all about how much water to use. Sorry, but I just have to say it. If you've never made pierogis before, you really have no point of reference on what "...dough feels like velvet" means. I did mine in the KA, and they ended up being a little tough and chewy (did not over knead the dough). So either less flour or more liquid the next time. I filled 12 with the sauerkraut filling, and the remaining 12 with the potato cheese filling...we preferred the potato cheese. Boiled them, then browned them in a skillet with some butter, sliced onions and mushrooms. This has the potential to be great once the ingredients are quantified a little better, and I definitely will try this again. Thanks Jill for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe does take a long time (longer than 1 hour) from making the filling to rolling and cutting the dough, but it's well worth it. Because I didn't have 8 cups of AP flour, I used half AP flour and half whole wheat. I didn't mix the flours, I just made two separate doughs. In hindsight, I should have just mixed them because the whole wheat flour made the dough too dense and it overpowered the flavor of the filling. So mixing the two would have worked out better. I did add caramelized onions to the filling and that was fantastic. It takes about 5 minutes to boil them (7-8 minutes for the whole wheat), and then I fried them in 2 TS of butter over medium heat. Served with sour cream and fresh ground pepper, these were a crowd pleaser, and there's plenty more in the freezer. All in all, a great recipe that my polish grandfather would be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I used to make my own dough for years until I decided to try this one. It was the BEST pierogi I have ever had! Not only does this taste way better, but it is so much easier to work with. It doesn't stick as bad as other dough does, and it was very easy to roll and stretch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
If you have never made dough before (I hadn't), this recipe is terrible. I had no idea how much water to add & ruined the first batch accordingly. I had to search for other recipes to get an idea about the amount of water for my second batch. Start with less than a cup and add very slowly from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe, I tried pierogies for the first time recently, and they came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICECHICKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Made them for a pre-Super Bowl party to represent the Steelers, as Pierogi are popular in Pittts. Dough turned out good, but elastic. Made it hard to work with and had to keep pressing it out after cutting the circles. Not knowing at least a recommendation of how much water to add would be helpful. That said everyone loved them!! So lots of work, but great flavor. BTW I used both filling. Only alteration was carmelized onion and goat's cheese were added to potato filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe just like grandmas! REMEMBER, to brownthem in butter with carmalized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States