Pierogi Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was good, but not what I was looking for. I wanted something that really had that good homemade taste. This wasn't it for me, a little more pasta like than pierogi if that makes sense. Anyway I found the dough I was looking for here. It's called Pierogi (Polish Dumplings). I didn't try the fillings I used my own, but the dough was exactly what I was looking for. So if you don't like this dough try that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
The dough came out great, easy to work with and to roll out. The Pierogi dough did not fall apart when I boiled the pierogis as well. I highly recommend this dough - my wife could not stop talking about my homemade Pierogis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I've been treyting to make a good pierogi dough for years and this is the first one that worked out great. Followed the directions explicitly including waiting the 2 hours before I rolled it out. I filled it with a homemade recipe of ravioli filling made with fat free cottage cheese and both my wife and myself were very impressed with the whole thing. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Center Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm not much of a recipe reviewer, but this one has to be reviewed... If you're looking for stress relief, this recipe is awesome. After having to add more water, oil, AND egg, i was able to sort of knead this dough. 2 hours later, I found myself in a fist fight with the dough. Literally... I had to physically beat it into submission to get it down to 1" thick. I'm not weak or feeble by any means, but rolling this dough out was like trying to roll a live mammal out with a rolling pin. After an hour of vigorous rolling and about a pint of sweat, I grabbed my trusty 9,000 year old, dangerously sharp biscuit cutter. It wouldn't cut this dough... at all... So I grabbed a sharp knife and CUT the circles out. Now I'm a cook... Really, seriously, I own my own catering business, so it's not as if I'm new to cooking. So why continue with this recipe? If a little pillow of potatoes didn't hit my tongue after all of this trouble, there would be bloodshed. Anyway, once the circles were cut, I re-rolled them. Yes, it seems as though the dough actually unflattened during the cutting process. The good news: the rest of the directions were perfect, leaving me with FANTASTIC tasting pierogies. Incidentally, I really needed the stress relief that came with beating the daylights out of the dough. If I EVER make this again, I will include some extra ingredients, a sledge hammer, and a bottle of rum (for my consumption, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teufel Frau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dough recipe is the best I have ever had. I add olive oil instead of veg. oil and once I start neading the dough add just a splash more and it makes the dough come together perfect. Now I need a good differant filling recipe. perfect..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe rocked! I was skeptical about the ingredients (oil) but the dough turned out soft and tender. I used the roller attachment for the Kitchen Aid Mixer (at settings 1 and/or 2) and had all of the dough rolled out perfectly in less than five minutes. My Polish great Aunties would have been proud! This definately will be in my recipe box and passed around to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pe Ell, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This dough was so easy to work with. I cheated a little and I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle--even easier! My mom said the pierogis tasted like they were made by a little old Polish lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This was so good!! I used to love eating the frozen, store-bought pierogis, but now I will make them! I used my own mashed potato and cheese recipe. My husband thinks these are great and he's never liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
found the dough to be somewhat tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I wish this recipe had a water estimate, because I made it too wet at first and had to double the other ingredients. Be very careful when adding the water! Also, I think they should be rolled out to as thin as possible - smaller than 1/8 of an inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States