Pierogi Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
found the dough to be somewhat tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe rocked! I was skeptical about the ingredients (oil) but the dough turned out soft and tender. I used the roller attachment for the Kitchen Aid Mixer (at settings 1 and/or 2) and had all of the dough rolled out perfectly in less than five minutes. My Polish great Aunties would have been proud! This definately will be in my recipe box and passed around to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pe Ell, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened to my dough! I followed directions but my dough was thick, tough, and hard to work with. I made about 5 pierogies and gave up. The ones I made were good tasting but the dough was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is the best dough I've worked with by far. I followed the directions to the "T" and it rolled out beautifully. Was very elastic and didn't break when I was forming the raviolis. This one s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
My live-in boyfriend is Ukranian and I made pierogies using this dough recipe for his family and served them at their Pysanky holiday. Rave reviews!...they usually just make lazy pierogi so they were quite impressed. I am Irish so I made Irish Champ as the filling to combine the two cultures. I did make one change to the dough: I made it vegan by using egg-replacer (a mixture of baking powder and baking soda) and the dough still came out wonderful and easy to work with. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Good recipe, although mine turned out more like ravioli. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Great dough recipe. I used a manual pasta roller to get the dough even thinner and it was very strong and didn't crack or break in the pot when I boiled them. THey even tasted great if you fry up the cooked perogi in a fry pan with butter after. Would probably make great posticker dough too. (you might need to add more liquid while you knead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dough recipe is the best I have ever had. I add olive oil instead of veg. oil and once I start neading the dough add just a splash more and it makes the dough come together perfect. Now I need a good differant filling recipe. perfect..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
turned out really good! But takes alot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I wish this recipe had a water estimate, because I made it too wet at first and had to double the other ingredients. Be very careful when adding the water! Also, I think they should be rolled out to as thin as possible - smaller than 1/8 of an inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Homemade Fettuccine Pasta

Make homemade fettuccine with or without a pasta machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States