Pierogi Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent! Made the dough as written - filled with my own cheesy mashed pots. seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, and seasoning salt - fried them in butter with onion and minced garlic. The dough was tough to roll, but the taste was worth it. my 4 and 6 year olds said they were great. We will have these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm not much of a recipe reviewer, but this one has to be reviewed... If you're looking for stress relief, this recipe is awesome. After having to add more water, oil, AND egg, i was able to sort of knead this dough. 2 hours later, I found myself in a fist fight with the dough. Literally... I had to physically beat it into submission to get it down to 1" thick. I'm not weak or feeble by any means, but rolling this dough out was like trying to roll a live mammal out with a rolling pin. After an hour of vigorous rolling and about a pint of sweat, I grabbed my trusty 9,000 year old, dangerously sharp biscuit cutter. It wouldn't cut this dough... at all... So I grabbed a sharp knife and CUT the circles out. Now I'm a cook... Really, seriously, I own my own catering business, so it's not as if I'm new to cooking. So why continue with this recipe? If a little pillow of potatoes didn't hit my tongue after all of this trouble, there would be bloodshed. Anyway, once the circles were cut, I re-rolled them. Yes, it seems as though the dough actually unflattened during the cutting process. The good news: the rest of the directions were perfect, leaving me with FANTASTIC tasting pierogies. Incidentally, I really needed the stress relief that came with beating the daylights out of the dough. If I EVER make this again, I will include some extra ingredients, a sledge hammer, and a bottle of rum (for my consumption, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teufel Frau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I never made dough, and I never made pierogi's. So, making this dough was an experiment for me. It turned out perfect! Was a bit hard to work with (I think, since I've never done it before), but the quality and taste were well worth it! Nice strong dough with a great taste. Family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
100% Polish and used this recipe 50 times - perfect - dont change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
great dough and is so simple to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzPriss26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I agree. This is the recipe my mother always used. I am Hungarian/ Ukrainian decent. Love making pierogi. It is the best pierogi dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used this dough recipe the first time I ever made pierogi's, and they turned out amazing! When cooked it was light colored, a little hard on the outside and softer inside, perfect! For filling I did spinach, some feta/mozr., grilled chicken (diced/shredded a bit), onions, garlic, and spices. It only needed a oven time of 10-15 min @ 400. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A super easy dough! I used this for both Perogies and Ravioli, and they came out perfect! AND I'll be using them to make mini Pizza Pops to bake in the oven! ;P Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Dough was harder to work with smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Homemade Fettuccine Pasta

Make homemade fettuccine with or without a pasta machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States