Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found this dish a little bit boring, but my potato-loving boyfriend loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good. Mine was a little dry. I will probably add a little water or chicken stock to keep it a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this as it was stated and found it good, hearty and filling, but slightly heavy ( with the noodles ). and i missed the sour kraut, ( again another thing taught by Grandma ) , since we use a sweet / sour kraut recipe in our family for stuffing perogies. But i will try it again, ( sorry, but personal perfereance will mean adding my own touches ). all in all... good idea, great alternitive to hours of work, and this means i may have perogies more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rudyard, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I know the reviews are good, and it probably is, but where are the pierogi? I was brought up on Polish homemade periogi and have made them myself, but the dough for perogi is in no way as thick as Lasagne noodles. Think that the title of this casserole needs changing. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is not a lot of trouble to make as one reader stated if you are using up leftovers......whenever I make lasagna I boil the entire box, and freeze the remaining noodles....then when I have leftover cream cheese-garlic mashed potatoes I make pierogi casserole......my family likes it this way: Dice an onion & cook in butter until softened. Pour a little on bottom of your casserole pan, then layer noodles, potatoes, butter-onion & sliced Velveeta...we like Velveeta better than cheddar....keep making layers & bake in oven or it microwaves nicely.........this is a good dish when you are needing comfort food.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Been making this for years and everyone loves it....for those that think it's bland, try a different cheese....Velveeta or Cooper Sharp. It's really simple, make a pot of mashed potatoes, add lots of cheese, fry onion, layer it all with the noodles, and bake! A great take-along dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Novak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Bland and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I make my own piroghy but thought I'd try this as a 'quick' alternative. Not even close. This is very doughy compared to my own egg yolk only dough which melts in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe would be a dream come true if not for one thing. I did try it as is just to be sure but my Polish guilt forced me to make a second batch at the same time using real pierogi dough. I know it's much more filling, but it's worth it to whip the dough up yourself. I think mine is somewhere in the ballpark of 3 medium pastered eggs, a cup of sour cream, + or - 3 cups of flour, TBSP of baking powder, and a few pinches of salt. Make a well and generally proceed as though you were making lasagna. I can definitely see myself using this time saver instead of pinching dumplings all day. Thanks for the thought. How did this never occur to me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was de-lish! I did add sauer kraut, which I won't do again, because it took away from the potato flavor. I also used the Barilla no-cook noodles as suggested by another review, next time I'll use regular as the recipe called for, the no-ccok noodles were too thin for us. Just shows you should stick to the recipe for the first time, and then tweak if you want to. Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to make it exactly as you submitted it!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States