Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by AngieW.
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
WOW!! This was soooo good! Two bites in to his meal and my husband was already planning when I was going to make this again. I admit I have a hard time following recipes, I usually change things as I go a long depending on my taste at the time. I incorporated part of the sauteed onions/garlic mixture, sour cream, butter and preshredded Mexican Blend cheese into the mash potatoes to make it like a pierogi. I cooked the the bacon separate (but used the grease for the onions and garlic) so I could crumble it between layers but then I forgot to add it to the dish when I was putting it together. I'm glad I didn't put it in since it didn't need it in the end as this was very rich. I used paprika, the remainder of the sauteed onions/garlic and some shredded Pepper Jack cheese in between layers, and on top too. Honestly, I didn't think that it was going to taste as good as it did. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful casserole, i did do a little twist on it. My husband made homemade lasagna noodles and we cooked them for about 3min. I sauted the onions and sauerkraut in the bacon fat after I cooked the bacon. I mixed the bacon and onions and cheese in the mashed potatoes. I put sliced kielbasa on the top and covered the casserole with foil for the first 30 min. It will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is fabulous but I did change some stuff. First, I use a container of Country Crock already made mashed potatoes. They're real mashed and they make this recipe SO much easier and you'd never know the difference. Also, once I made it and the store had NO lazagna noodles! I got rotini noodles and that's how I always make it now. The cheese and potato always stick in to the noodles. Yum. One more change! I mix the garlic/onion/bacon mixture IN to the mashed potatoes before spreading. My kids wouldn't eat it if all that was waiting for them in one big layer but mix it in and they don't know it's there, all they know is it makes it taste great! They ask me to make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this for an after church Fathers Day Lunch. My finicky eater father-in-law ate it and loved it. So so happy to have this recipe since it is so much easier than the alternative. It was a much easier way to turn my southern friends n family onto the Polish cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Marie Russell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Burns, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
The recipe is great as-is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is so much easier to make then pierogies, but it still takes some work. I use a whole 1lb of peppered bacon because my husband loves bacon. I also make a lighter version of this with 1% milk, reduced fat cheese and light sour cream, and there isn't much different from the original version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
this recipe is all noodle! totally disproportionate in my opinion. BUT it was DELISH when i used 8 potatoes and extra cheese, and still cut it to only 6 noodles (two layers -- I spread the onion mixture just under the top noodles). covered it when baking and wasn't dry at all. good even without the bacon and lots of fresh chives on top. used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very bland :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We loved this! Perfect comfort food, especially when it's cold outside. I find myself craving this quite often. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
As is I'd probably give it 3 stars but that's only because I'm used to my FIL's. Next time I make it, I'll be adding a lot more onion, maybe some sour cream to the potatoes and have extra butter to drizzle on after it's cooked to mimic the frying in butter we do to our peirogies - for me that'll take it up to 4/5 stars (along with my waistline!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States