Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
To make this taste more like perogies add the cheddar to the mashed potatoes. When layering add a layer of cottage cheese with a beaten egg added to it..also pour a little melted butter over the top layer of noodles to keep from getting hard. I leave the bacon out, and serve bacon bits on the side. With these mods it becomes a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was gone in a second. It was really good...but not great. I would make it again...but with instant mashed potatoes for quicker prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
good but different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made this for a church potluck and was very disappointed in it. It was very bland and tasted nothing like any pierogies I've ever had. Maybe a stronger tasting cheese would have improved the taste. I'll never make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good. The only thing I did differently was mix the onion, bacons and cheese into the mashed potatoes before spreading. This just made it easier. I am thing next time I may leave out the bacon and try it with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this for my daughter's First Communion party and my Polish family LOVED it! I suggest making sure the potatoes are flavored to your taste before you layer the casserole and I baked it covered in tin foil. Delicious and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
FABULOUS! Or at least the idea was! I'm a pretty lazy cook, so I used leftover mashed potatoes (day old). First sauteed a whole onion in one stick of real butter, then dumped it in with mashed potatoes, two large spoonfuls of sour cream, three heaping handfuls of grated cheese (I used cheddar), and a couple of dashes of seasoned salt. Then did the noodle/potato mix/noodle layering. Did not use bacon or garlic this time around and may never do so. Oh my goodness, this is divine. Five stars just for giving me the inspiration! Foolproof for nearly every cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I love pierogis. I was introduced to them by my husbands grandma who is from Czech. They were a big craving during my pregnancies!! I was so excited to see this. It was fun to do once and tasted fine. I just felt so guilty eating all the carbs, not a lot of nutrition here. The only issue was the top layer of noodles did not get completely covered with the remaining cheese etc., so it was just too tough to eat. Otherwise, a tasty fun dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Mixed a bit of sour cream in with my mashed potatoes, and also added the bacon/onion mixture to the potatoes. I love it. Different and comforting. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
good - very rich, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States