Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
this dish is absolutely to die for. it tastes exactly like a pierogi, and i think i could eat it on a daily basis. having said that, i'd prefer not to have a heart attack before the age of 30, so i make a few changes to lighten the load a little - i always omit the bacon, i prefer it without. and i make it with 2% milk cheese, skim milk, fat free sour cream, and i can't believe it's not butter. it's not quite as rich this way, but still tastes delicious and comes without the guilt trip of the original recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
i make one similar without the bacon, and i add ranch dressing seasoning mix to the mashed potatoes (i used the box mashed potatoes-potato buds cant tell the difference and less work for me Yahoo) and i double the mashed potatoes as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved this casserole! it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this casserole as I had potatoes and a few other ingredients that I wanted to use up. I thought it was really good, although I used "oven ready" lasagne noodles and they weren't soft enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I scaled this recipe down because there are only three of us and left-overs aren't always eaten. I should have paid more attention to the comment that about putting the noodles at the bottom and then the potatoes but I followed the recipe and ended up running out of mashed potatoes and only had one layer of noodles in the casserole. I was a little disappointed that there was only one layer of noodles. The taste was really good, however, so I rated it at four stars. I may try it again and next time I will be able to fix the mistake in the directions of the recipe and put noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was delicious. The only changes I made were to use extra sharp-expensive, white cheddar cheese, and more of it, AND I only used 3 cloves of garlic--and I also covered it with foil while baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very good recipe, I changed it a bit, it came out wonderful.Everyone enjoyed the dish, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
To make this taste more like perogies add the cheddar to the mashed potatoes. When layering add a layer of cottage cheese with a beaten egg added to it..also pour a little melted butter over the top layer of noodles to keep from getting hard. I leave the bacon out, and serve bacon bits on the side. With these mods it becomes a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was gone in a second. It was really good...but not great. I would make it again...but with instant mashed potatoes for quicker prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
good but different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States