Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was okay. I probably liked this better than my husband did, but even I thought it was a little bland. If I make this again I will try the advice of other reviewers who added the bacon mixture to the potatoes. My husband added hot sauce to his and said it helped, but he adds hot sauce to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe as written on this one and was not overly impressed. It was missing something that I couldn't quite put my finger on. (maybe more bacon would help?) It was okay/edible but I'm in no hurry to make it again. Maybe having an off-the-boat Polish grandma who made real homemade pierogies is clouding my judgement. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyAnn327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaffee, New York, USA
Living In: Yorkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I didn't make any alterations on this and it was delicious. I did have a dry, hard top noodle and would adjust for that as suggested. Also I was a little concerned that this reads 40.7 grams of fat per serving. Surely that means for the entire casserole. My husband said it was better than his aunt's homemade pierogis and described it as light but filling. I would think it would be great for any kind of gathering. Also easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omegashaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I took a short cut and used mini farfalle instead of lasagna noodles. Used sour cream instead of milk to mash the potatoes, and seasoned them generously with salt, freshly ground pepper, and snipped chives. I omitted the bacon and used a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. I've never tasted Pierogis before, but if they are as good as this casserole, they must be deelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One of my favorites. I made extra this last time and froze it, hoping it will be just as good the second time around. We'll see....I always use instant mashed potatoes, cuts the time in half, and omit the bacon (just don't care for it) and it turns out great. Oh, one more thing..... the time I made this using "no-boil lasagne noodles" it did not work out so well for me. Not sure what I did wrong, but the noodles were super crunchy, it was like eating them straight out of the box! So, lesson learned, I boil the noodles as directed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrenalyne
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was yummy - a great comfort food but really bad on the nutrition. I would maybe make it again because my hubby went crazy for it but next time in going to try to cut out some of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was okay. It could definitely use some improvements though. The first time, I chopped the bacon and cooked it as suggested. I had to toss it because it cooked so unevenly. It works much better to cook the bacon in strips, crumble, and return to the pan with the onion and garlic. Next time, I will definitely try adding sauerkraut to give it more flavor. Also, BE SURE to add salt. It desperately needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
this is really similar to a recipe that is a family tradition on christmas in my family. My grandma has made it for as long as I can remember. I have never had bacon in it, but it would probably be good. Instead of chives, my grandma caramelizes onions and uses them to soften the noodles and mix in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
OMG this does taste just like pierogi's!!!! My picky daughter loves this dish! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
It was very mild. I hoped it would be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States