Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My husband loves pierogis. I doubled the potatoes and did follow many reviewers suggestion to mix the bacon, onion and cheese in with the potatoes. Made it a lot easier to assemble. I did save some onion and cheese for the top. Because this takes some time to make and it is very rich, I made portions for the freezer. I lined a casserole with foil, cooled the casserole, pulled out the casserole and cut into portions. I put the portion I want in a loaf pan to cook. Nice to have a quick potato dish for a side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious - very close to tasting like a real pierogi. I was skeptical but am sold and will be making it again. I made with 7 potatoes and mixed the bacon/onion/garlic into them - like a pierogi would be. I only made 2 layers of potato and lasagna noodles (6 noodles) in a 9X13 pan. Really could be made in a smaller pan if you wanted more layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was okay. We really like pierogis, so I thought that we would all like this. Two of my kids, who happen to love potatoes and bacon, liked this, but the other one and my husband and I didn't really care for it. I thought it was a little on the bland side with the noodles and potatoes, and my husband just didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great weekday meal. Due to family members preferences, I made one 8x8 pan of potato pierogi and one of sweet potato. I liked both, but I think I liked it with sweet potatoes better. I know it isn't authentic, but traditional Polish cooking is most about thrift and versatility. This will be a fun casserole to play around with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Yum! Has become one of my new comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love this simply, quick alternatve to the traditional Pierogi (I think it would even pass Babcia's approval). I definitely followed advice from other reviewers such as: added onions and bacon right to mashed potatoes, made extra mashed potatoes, split the recipe into more layers, sprayed the 9X13 with cooking spray, covered w/ tin foil and added some of the bacon grease right to the mashed taters (Don't worry about the extra fat and calories, you're eating Pierogi's for goodness sakes). The family loved it - I will definitely use this recipe again - you can't beat the simplicity while still acquiring the traditional Pierogi taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wonderful! I layered it a little differently - I mixed 1 cup shredded cheddar with the cooked onion and bacon and the 8 oz sour cream. I then used this creamy mixture as a middle layer instead of just cheese. I made sure the top layer was mashed potatoes, then topped with the additional 1 cup cheddar. (This prevents the tough top noodle layer.) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Total gluten when making/eating this. comfort food at its best! Use instant mashed potatoes to save you some time and dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I also made a few changes based on other reviews. I used ALOT less bacon and onion than called for. I didn't want a huge bacon or oniony taste--I used about 1/4 c bacon, and about 1/4 of a medium SWEET onion. I also mixed the bacon/onion with the potaotes and cheese. I used Barilla NO BOIL lasagna noodles and I baked it COVERED so the noodles would not dry out. IT WAS EXCELLENT! I made this a for a party and just about everyone asked for the recipe. We are Polish and this is the next best thing to real pierogis--and alot less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I added more onion and bacon...rave reviews from everyone! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States