Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Here is what I did (my mom makes a dish similar to this)and it came perfect, first of all double the potatoes (to 10) milk (to 1 cup) and butter (to 12 TBS) when the potatoes are mashed mix into it the cheese and bacon mixture. Then layer potato, noodle, potato, noodle, potato, noodle. Top with 1 onion sauteed in 1/2 cup butter and cover with aluminum foil. Then bake covered. The noodles will not get hard and the dish will disappear before your eyes!! ;-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
651 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I changed the method for this recipe quite a bit, so I hesitate to review it. I can't resist though because it was so good! Here's how I made it. First I doubled the recipe, but still used a 9x13 pan to make a thick casserole. I mixed the cheese in with the hot mashed potatoes to make a filling more like what I am used to in a pirogi. For the assembly, I layered 1/4 of the mashed potatoes, then a little bit of the onion mixture, and then noodles. Repeated four times, ending with onion mixture on top. Because I was making this for a number of meals, I lined the 9x13 pan with foil first, and after assembly, chilled it in the fridge. When chilled ans solid, I turned the whole casserole out of the pan, removed the foil, cut the casserole in quarters, wrapped each quarter for the freezer and froze them to bake later. Worked great! The only change I would make is to make twice the amount of onions this recipe calls for and perhaps omit or cut back on the bacon. Served with sauteed shredded cabbage and fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Very good! I made this as a side dish for my Super Bowl party (GO STEELERS). I didn't follow the exact directions of the recipe. I folded the bacon, onion and garlic combination into the mashed potatoes. I then layered it with the cheddar cheese. I also added a layer of noodles to the bottom of the pan, because it didn't say to. I covered the pan with foil and baked it for 30 minutes so the noodles would not get hard. I then took the foil off the dish and baked it uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
My family loved this. I usually spend hours in the kitchen making pierogis with my mom and this was a perfect substitute. It became my kids favorite in minutes and they wanted more. I blend the bacon, a few tsp of grease and cheese in with the potatoes instead of butter, salt & pepper, then layer with more cheese. Not so healthy w/grease, but so tasty! Like the real thing. So excited to have found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe. I cheated and used instant potatoes and substituted shredded marble for the cheddar so the taste wouldn't be quite as sharp. I baked it for 20 minutes covered with aluminum foil (so the noodles wouldn't dry out) then removed the foil and baked for another 20 minutes. My family loved it and it even tasted great heated up in the microwave the next day! I definately am going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We loved this recipe. It was easy to make and had all the flavor of the labor intesne pierogi. We also added a layer of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I have to admit, I was a little weary of trying this recipe...but it really turned out really good. I added mushrooms and topped it with sour cream. Hubby says he would like to have it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Nice dish and loved by my family. After reading the other reviews I decided to make a cheese sauce for the top of the casserole to eliminate the problem of the noodles drying out. I simply made a roux, added milk, stirred until thickened and added shredded cheddar cheese. (the same recipe you would use for baked mac and cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this pretty much as written except to cook a whole pound of bacon and put half of it right on in the mashed potatoes. Also, I didn't brown the bacon in butter because, after all, it is bacon and it makes plenty of it's own grease. I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon grease after removing the bacon from the pan. Other wise, I followed the recipe. I liked it a lot, but my husband thought it was just okay. We have tons of leftovers, so I guess I'll be eating this for breakfast for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Just ok. I probably will not make again; not enough taste to justify the high calorie to low nutrient ratio. I made according to directions, except I added a layer of whole wheat noodles as the bottom layer to prevent sticking. I also used "real bacon pieces" instead of frying bacon (I added them to the onion garlic saute) and folded 1/2 of that mixture into the potatoes and used the other 1/2 on top (under the second 1/2 of the cheese). Maybe it will be better left over for lunch tomorrow. My husband liked it, so I'd probably actualy rate it about a 31/2. Thanks for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States