Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Yum! I tweaked this recipe a bit, like another reviewer I prefer a thicker piece, so I made more mashed potatoes. I also stirred the onions and garlic into the mashed potatoes. I alternated potato, bacon, noodle and cheese in that order, X3, and also covered the dish with foil. I would also recommend baking for at least 45 minutes, 30 is not enough to warm the centre and melt the cheese topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I thought I would cheat and use ready-to-cook lasagna noodles. Wouldn't do that again. It was good, but it was missing something, can't figure out what it was though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Cant wait to try, when i make mashed potato's i use sour cream and cream cheese . so i will sure that when i do this for thanks giving this year.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peaches49707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Add ground beef to the potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anirtak1131

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
thought this was a good dish. Very filling fed all 5 of my family plus some nieghbor kids. Still have leftovers. Will make again. Might be better with the peirogi dough but lasagna noodles still worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found this dish a little bit boring, but my potato-loving boyfriend loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good. Mine was a little dry. I will probably add a little water or chicken stock to keep it a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this as it was stated and found it good, hearty and filling, but slightly heavy ( with the noodles ). and i missed the sour kraut, ( again another thing taught by Grandma ) , since we use a sweet / sour kraut recipe in our family for stuffing perogies. But i will try it again, ( sorry, but personal perfereance will mean adding my own touches ). all in all... good idea, great alternitive to hours of work, and this means i may have perogies more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rudyard, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I know the reviews are good, and it probably is, but where are the pierogi? I was brought up on Polish homemade periogi and have made them myself, but the dough for perogi is in no way as thick as Lasagne noodles. Think that the title of this casserole needs changing. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is not a lot of trouble to make as one reader stated if you are using up leftovers......whenever I make lasagna I boil the entire box, and freeze the remaining noodles....then when I have leftover cream cheese-garlic mashed potatoes I make pierogi casserole......my family likes it this way: Dice an onion & cook in butter until softened. Pour a little on bottom of your casserole pan, then layer noodles, potatoes, butter-onion & sliced Velveeta...we like Velveeta better than cheddar....keep making layers & bake in oven or it microwaves nicely.........this is a good dish when you are needing comfort food.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States