Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Super delicious! My husband and toddler son loved it too. Next time, I'll add a couple more potatoes and an extra onion. I also would recommend doing at least two layers of the onion/bacon/garlic mixture instead of just the one toward the top. We loved it throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
while this sounds great---for an additional flavor, make a layer with saurekraut mixed with sauted oinions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very disappointing; especially since we love pierogi. The top layer of noodles was so hard and dried that it was hard to cut through and chew. The flavor was pretty good, otherwise. Not sure if I'll make this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I really wanted to love this recipe because all of the ingredients in it my entire family loves! However, all of them together just didn't work for any of us! I followed the recipe, too. One son thought it needed more bacon...I thought the cheese on the top layer of noodles made the top too crisp. I don't know; it was way too much work for a dinner that was basically a disappointment and for some reason just didn't come together. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Excellent! Since my husband had to remove gluten from his diet, I've been on a mission to adjust his favorite foods to something he can eat. Pierogis were one food I could not make over ... until now! I just switched the lasagna noodles to the gluten free variety and he loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I don't believe in reviewing recipes if you make major changes, so I followed this recipe exactly. I found it bland, thin, and frankly, odd tasting. Only one person ate a full serving. Maybe doubling the potatoes and adding spices? I don't know, but I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by OUTLAW
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yummo!!! I made this without bacon and double the onion!!!! I also added ranch dressing to my mashed potatoe mixture. This was so good with kielbasa. My hunny loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OUTLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
verry good but i always add cottage cheese and mash all ingreadents together except the lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Pretty good casserole. I made a few adjustments as per other reviewers and made my own alterations. First, I combined the cheese, salt, and pepper with the potatoes. In the future, I will put the onions, bacon, and the garlic in with the potatoes as well. I layered the potato mixture and noodles until I was close to the top at which time I added one layer of bacon (I left them in slices) and then potatoes on top. To top it off, I put another layer of noodles and shredded cheese. After that, I sprinkled chives (can't remember if they were regular chives or garlic chives) on the top and baked it. Next time, I think I will add sour cream to the potato mix and perhaps mushroom soup or mushrooms (as suggested by another reviewer). Overall, I think this recipe is worth keeping in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I took another reviewers advice ... I just used perogies. Fried them a bit in garlic butter and onions, just to make them a tiny bit crispy. Half cooked my bacon. Laced the bottom of my 9x9 with bacon, then perogies & onions, cheese, more bacon and more cheese. Sprinkle with pepper. Remove from oven at 350 for 15 mins and top with sour cream. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States