Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
my kids loved this (and they are picky eaters!). Have made this several times and it is always a hit, it is also a great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlbertaGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was quite delicious. I did make the recipe according to the directions, as I always do making a recipe for the firs time. Next time I am going to layer the onion, garlic and bacon throughout instead of doing it as the top layer. I think this will bring out the flavors more. You do have to make sure that you season your potatoes well or it will be a bit bland, in my opinion. Overall it is a definite 5 star recipe for taste and ease; a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was a great casserole tried at Christmas and then served for New Years dinner party with some changes Changes are: increase potatoes to 8, mix sauted onions and bacon into potatoes. I seasoned with McCormick Grill Mates, Montreal Steak seasoning and eliminated the garlic. Get you potatoes the way you like them before you assemble..lots of taste. Then i just layered with the cheddar cheese but used swiss on the top final layer...it looks nicer. I made this up the morning of the party and baked it that evening and it was great. Keep it covered the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
this dish is absolutely to die for. it tastes exactly like a pierogi, and i think i could eat it on a daily basis. having said that, i'd prefer not to have a heart attack before the age of 30, so i make a few changes to lighten the load a little - i always omit the bacon, i prefer it without. and i make it with 2% milk cheese, skim milk, fat free sour cream, and i can't believe it's not butter. it's not quite as rich this way, but still tastes delicious and comes without the guilt trip of the original recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
i make one similar without the bacon, and i add ranch dressing seasoning mix to the mashed potatoes (i used the box mashed potatoes-potato buds cant tell the difference and less work for me Yahoo) and i double the mashed potatoes as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved this casserole! it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this casserole as I had potatoes and a few other ingredients that I wanted to use up. I thought it was really good, although I used "oven ready" lasagne noodles and they weren't soft enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I scaled this recipe down because there are only three of us and left-overs aren't always eaten. I should have paid more attention to the comment that about putting the noodles at the bottom and then the potatoes but I followed the recipe and ended up running out of mashed potatoes and only had one layer of noodles in the casserole. I was a little disappointed that there was only one layer of noodles. The taste was really good, however, so I rated it at four stars. I may try it again and next time I will be able to fix the mistake in the directions of the recipe and put noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was delicious. The only changes I made were to use extra sharp-expensive, white cheddar cheese, and more of it, AND I only used 3 cloves of garlic--and I also covered it with foil while baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very good recipe, I changed it a bit, it came out wonderful.Everyone enjoyed the dish, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States