Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe. Next time will try with leftover mashed potatoes and fry them in some pam first then add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxhavenfarm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
It was good. I added mushrooms to it which I think made it too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Yum! Eating this right now, and it's delish! After reading a few reviews, I combined the mashed potatoes with the onion, bacon mixture and cheese and layered that with the noodles. Then I sauteed a bit more onion in butter and put them on top. This was pretty easy to make, and I'll definitely be making it again. Next time I might try adding sauerkraut... maybe just on half, since my husband doesn't like it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Did as written, but without onions. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was really good. I followed the recipe with the exception that, I mixed the bacon, onion, garlic to the mashed potato mixture. I also mixed in some sourcream since I bought an 8oz container for this and didn't realize it was just for a topping. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Oh my gosh!! This was soooo good. My Dad is Polish and I miss eating pierogis. I saw this and thought I would try it. My husband and I loved this dish! I followed the recipe exactly and it was so good. I did cover the casserole with foil so that the noodles wouldn't get hard. Next time I make this I will probably use another onion and add it to one of the layers and I will probably use one or two more potatoes. I did let my onion caramelize and it was delicious! This definitely wasn't a "quick casserole" though. It took a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
was a little plain/bland, but still good. I even carmelized my onions and mixed with the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
my kids loved this (and they are picky eaters!). Have made this several times and it is always a hit, it is also a great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlbertaGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was quite delicious. I did make the recipe according to the directions, as I always do making a recipe for the firs time. Next time I am going to layer the onion, garlic and bacon throughout instead of doing it as the top layer. I think this will bring out the flavors more. You do have to make sure that you season your potatoes well or it will be a bit bland, in my opinion. Overall it is a definite 5 star recipe for taste and ease; a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was a great casserole tried at Christmas and then served for New Years dinner party with some changes Changes are: increase potatoes to 8, mix sauted onions and bacon into potatoes. I seasoned with McCormick Grill Mates, Montreal Steak seasoning and eliminated the garlic. Get you potatoes the way you like them before you assemble..lots of taste. Then i just layered with the cheddar cheese but used swiss on the top final layer...it looks nicer. I made this up the morning of the party and baked it that evening and it was great. Keep it covered the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States