Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great weekday meal. Due to family members preferences, I made one 8x8 pan of potato pierogi and one of sweet potato. I liked both, but I think I liked it with sweet potatoes better. I know it isn't authentic, but traditional Polish cooking is most about thrift and versatility. This will be a fun casserole to play around with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Yum! Has become one of my new comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love this simply, quick alternatve to the traditional Pierogi (I think it would even pass Babcia's approval). I definitely followed advice from other reviewers such as: added onions and bacon right to mashed potatoes, made extra mashed potatoes, split the recipe into more layers, sprayed the 9X13 with cooking spray, covered w/ tin foil and added some of the bacon grease right to the mashed taters (Don't worry about the extra fat and calories, you're eating Pierogi's for goodness sakes). The family loved it - I will definitely use this recipe again - you can't beat the simplicity while still acquiring the traditional Pierogi taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wonderful! I layered it a little differently - I mixed 1 cup shredded cheddar with the cooked onion and bacon and the 8 oz sour cream. I then used this creamy mixture as a middle layer instead of just cheese. I made sure the top layer was mashed potatoes, then topped with the additional 1 cup cheddar. (This prevents the tough top noodle layer.) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Total gluten when making/eating this. comfort food at its best! Use instant mashed potatoes to save you some time and dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I also made a few changes based on other reviews. I used ALOT less bacon and onion than called for. I didn't want a huge bacon or oniony taste--I used about 1/4 c bacon, and about 1/4 of a medium SWEET onion. I also mixed the bacon/onion with the potaotes and cheese. I used Barilla NO BOIL lasagna noodles and I baked it COVERED so the noodles would not dry out. IT WAS EXCELLENT! I made this a for a party and just about everyone asked for the recipe. We are Polish and this is the next best thing to real pierogis--and alot less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I added more onion and bacon...rave reviews from everyone! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It was delicious, being that there is only 2 of us, we enjoyed this multiple evenings and I took some to my in laws and to work with me. Quite a heavy dish so I enjoyed it as my small main entree with a large side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was okay. I probably liked this better than my husband did, but even I thought it was a little bland. If I make this again I will try the advice of other reviewers who added the bacon mixture to the potatoes. My husband added hot sauce to his and said it helped, but he adds hot sauce to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe as written on this one and was not overly impressed. It was missing something that I couldn't quite put my finger on. (maybe more bacon would help?) It was okay/edible but I'm in no hurry to make it again. Maybe having an off-the-boat Polish grandma who made real homemade pierogies is clouding my judgement. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyAnn327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaffee, New York, USA
Living In: Yorkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States