Pierogi Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was very good, but very labor intensive. I am not sure if I would make it again just because of how long it took, but I was glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
We loved this recipe, but next time I will drain out some more of the bacon grease. I also used the no-boil lasagna noodles, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieW.
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
WOW!! This was soooo good! Two bites in to his meal and my husband was already planning when I was going to make this again. I admit I have a hard time following recipes, I usually change things as I go a long depending on my taste at the time. I incorporated part of the sauteed onions/garlic mixture, sour cream, butter and preshredded Mexican Blend cheese into the mash potatoes to make it like a pierogi. I cooked the the bacon separate (but used the grease for the onions and garlic) so I could crumble it between layers but then I forgot to add it to the dish when I was putting it together. I'm glad I didn't put it in since it didn't need it in the end as this was very rich. I used paprika, the remainder of the sauteed onions/garlic and some shredded Pepper Jack cheese in between layers, and on top too. Honestly, I didn't think that it was going to taste as good as it did. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful casserole, i did do a little twist on it. My husband made homemade lasagna noodles and we cooked them for about 3min. I sauted the onions and sauerkraut in the bacon fat after I cooked the bacon. I mixed the bacon and onions and cheese in the mashed potatoes. I put sliced kielbasa on the top and covered the casserole with foil for the first 30 min. It will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is fabulous but I did change some stuff. First, I use a container of Country Crock already made mashed potatoes. They're real mashed and they make this recipe SO much easier and you'd never know the difference. Also, once I made it and the store had NO lazagna noodles! I got rotini noodles and that's how I always make it now. The cheese and potato always stick in to the noodles. Yum. One more change! I mix the garlic/onion/bacon mixture IN to the mashed potatoes before spreading. My kids wouldn't eat it if all that was waiting for them in one big layer but mix it in and they don't know it's there, all they know is it makes it taste great! They ask me to make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this for an after church Fathers Day Lunch. My finicky eater father-in-law ate it and loved it. So so happy to have this recipe since it is so much easier than the alternative. It was a much easier way to turn my southern friends n family onto the Polish cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Marie Russell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Burns, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
The recipe is great as-is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is so much easier to make then pierogies, but it still takes some work. I use a whole 1lb of peppered bacon because my husband loves bacon. I also make a lighter version of this with 1% milk, reduced fat cheese and light sour cream, and there isn't much different from the original version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
this recipe is all noodle! totally disproportionate in my opinion. BUT it was DELISH when i used 8 potatoes and extra cheese, and still cut it to only 6 noodles (two layers -- I spread the onion mixture just under the top noodles). covered it when baking and wasn't dry at all. good even without the bacon and lots of fresh chives on top. used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very bland :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States