Piernik - Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Fabulous recipe - not too sweet and just the right amount of spice. I made half this recipe which was the perfect amount to make 4 small bundt cakes (using my Nordic Ware Bundt Quartet pan.) Reduce the baking time significantly should you do this. Also, I added a little baking powder, didn’t bother boiling the honey, stirring for 10 minutes, or waiting an hour. I mixed all dry ingredients in one bowl, mixed all the liquid ingredients in another, and then combined, stirring in the walnuts and raisins at the end. When the bundts had cooled, I dusted with a very light coating of powdered sugar for appearances. I actually planned to freeze all but one so I’d have something on hand should a friend drop by for coffee, but frankly, they won’t last that long. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I followed this recipe to a T, except that I poured all the batter into a 9 x 13 casserole pan. I made it for mother's day, and everyone loved it. It truly tasted authentic. My 80 yrd Polish Grandpa said it was the best he had ever tasted. I might try using this dough for cookies at x-mas time. The dough has a gingerbread taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I grew up eating this as a child and was excited to find the recipe. I did follow the advice of a reviewer and added 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I also agree you need to grease and flour the pan. My family ate half of this up for breakfast and finished it off later with coffee. We all thought it tasted best when we heated up the slices in the toaster oven first. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
We loved this bread - a wonderful surprise taste of honey lingering in your mouth - I added apricots and it worked well at a church breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was great!!!! I omitted the raisins, just because I'm not a fan. I'm glad I added walnuts though because they added some texture and flavor. I love the spices in this bread! I think dried cranberries or "craisins" would be good in this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love the taste of the honey, nuts and rasins. I eat it with peanut butter for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After some minor tweaks (like adding some baking powder for lifting power and more walnuts for extra flavour and texture) this bread was truly delightful and has become a staple in my family. Best eaten warm with butter. Just delicious! And the aroma that fills up your kitchen as it's baking is heavenly too..Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My polish girlfriend loves the way I make this! I go heavy on the cinnamon in the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is delicious!!! I did take the suggestion to add baking powder. I also baked mine in a bundt pan, which turned out perfect!! It actually finished baking in an hour using the bundt pan, which was nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is true to my Polish roots, just like mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States