Pie Snacking Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I was looking for an easy recipe that used apple pie filling and this fit the bill. It was moist and had a great balance of flavor. But be warned. Since a large portion of the cake is made out of the filling, the middle of the cake tastes a bit raw... I'm sure that won't be an issue for those of you that eat raw dough. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanuts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Outstanding! So moist and yummy and a snap to through together. I had a craving for cake and made this in no time. I think I would like to experiment with other pie filling flavors next time. Very versatile and easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I chose this recipe doing an ingredient search to use a can of pie filling I wanted to get rid of. So easy & quick to throw together. Didn't measure the pie filling, just used the whole can but I did chop up the apples so they were smaller. I also added extra cinnamon(because I do it w/anything that calls for cinnamon) & added a pinch of ground cloves. Loved it! Took it to a dessert potluck & it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I had 1 ¾ cups of homemade ‘Apple Pie Filling’ by Terri (AR) to use before it spoiled. Found this simple cake to use it in. I only had a half cup of vegetable oil left, so I used it and filled the rest of the measuring cup with applesauce – worked perfectly. The cake was finished baking in 35 minutes, any longer and it would have been dried out. For a simple cake, without any icing, this was wonderful. I cannot believe how moist it was and how many days it remained moist. I ate mine for breakfast and the rest of the family enjoyed theirs as a dessert in lunches and in the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made thIs with chErry pie filling. It was delicious. I did cut the sugar to one cup and used half applesauce/ half oil. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great recipe! Super easy to make, my 10 year old did it with no trouble and it was very moist and delicious. I checked it at 35 minutes as Brian suggested and it was done, just a little crumb on the toothpick, perfect. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This cake was easy to make, moist, and delicious. I did make a few changes, though. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, I used one cup white flour and one cup whole wheat flour, and I only used 1 cup of sugar and it's plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
made this with peach pie filling and one with apple .they were both great.reminds me of moist pumpkin bread.did not need anything on it.great with coffee.will make over and over with other pie fillings.I mixed pie fillings with batter until fruit started to come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Yum! Turned out very moist and delicious. Definitely top with cool-whip, but it still is good without too. It was plenty sweet, I used homemade jarred apple pie filling. We all ate it last night for a treat, then hubby and I finished it off for breakfast this morning. Delicious! The only substitution I would make, which I always do, is to use unsweetened applesauce in place of the vegetable oil. I do this in any recipe calling for oil. It turns out just as moist and is waaaay healthier. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This cake is SO good! I made it at school for a class and everyone LOVED IT! It was very easy to make. My only problem was that it burned a little around the edges and the inside still hadn't baked, but I'm going to guess it was the oven. Two thumbs up! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States