Pie Iron Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
These hobo tacos were very good while camping. We used small flour tortillas and cooked the ground beef at home before we left, which made putting it all together really easy. We used all our traditional taco fillings including olives, green chilis, tomatoes, etc. Some went inside the taco, and others on top after it was done. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These were fine. They tasted good, but there wasn't anything special about them vs just grilling the shells on the grill like usual. I thought the kids would think it was more fun than it way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Made these while camping last weekend. We made them with chicken and cooked the meat with the taco seasoning ahead of time. My husband and I thought the were a great change of pace for camping. Made the kids with only cheese, like a pie iron quesadilla. There was some experimentation with the timing of the tacos in the pie iron. We burnt the first batch, but then got the hang of it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was a bit of a disappointment for us. The taste isn’t anything special and the taco shell texture makes the taste resemble a chimichanga. It was a change from the mountain pies, but we could have just as easily just ate the tacos as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We made these on a camping trip and served them with sour cream and salsa. While it's a good recipe and a nice break from typical camping food, next time I'd probably add peppers or use a spicier taco seasoning to give it a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
we tried both corn and flour tortillas, both were great. nice thing about the shells is that you don't have to watch them like bread, they never burned on us. we had some w/ground beef and other w/chicken. was a nice change from the usual burgers and dogs while camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I tried these using plain bread instead of tortillas and they were really good. I didn't have any salsa so I just used ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was yummy. We simplified it and only did the taco meat and cheese inside. Will definetely make again and bring extra to eat more and share. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I can't wait to have these tomorrow when we go camping! I tried them with the pie iron but over an open flame on the stove...just to make sure it would work before I lug it all to the campground. They are delicious! I subbed flour for corn tortillas and omitted the onion. I've found a new favorite camping food! :) ****Update**** I made these camping yesterday and they we SO good! My husband couldn't believe how good they turned out...I think he was a little leery of "campfire tacos." I had precooked the beef at home so all I had to do was assemble and cook once we started our campfire. I'm sure they'll be requested whenever we camp from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States