Pie Crust Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
One of my favorite memories also, which I now do for my granddaughter. Whenever I bake pies, I take the left over crust, roll into a rectangle, cover with butter, sugar & cinnamon, OR grape jelly (my favorite) then roll up jelly roll style, slice into 2" pieces and bake on parchment paper, for easy cleanup, just in case I put too much filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
One of my fondest memories of growign up in the 70's, if you're wondering) was when my mother was baking a pie, her letting me roll out the leftover scraps of crust and cutting out shapes with my cookie cutters, brushing the shapes with milk, and sprinkling the tops with sugar and cinnamon. It's memories like those that have prompted me to be a pie-making fanatic today. I can't wait to share this secret treat with my own children. Thank you for posting this heart-warming recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Thanks for reminding me of these! My kids loved to make them too! We used colored sugars & they were very festive! Also try turning a small, oven-safe bown upside down - then roll out dough large enough to cover it & brush it with butter & sugar - put it sugar side down on the bowl & bake. You'll end up with a sugary crusty bowl. These are GREAT to fill with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
These are soooo yummy and fun to eat. Like another reviewer, we also did this with our leftover pie crusts and used butter flavored spray rather than butter. I've also made this with Splenda and it turned out good. Thanks for the cute idea Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Wow. thanks for the recipe and the reminder from my childhood. My mom would make an extra pie crust just to make "cinnamon roll" made just like the jelly roll described, but not sliced until after it bakes and cools (reduces any mess as the sugar is sealed into the roll). Just be sure to use shortening instead of butter if you make it this way. Shortening holds its shape much better. I never liked pies as a child but I sure loved this cinnamon sugar treat. I just never knew so many others also had such great Mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My Aunt Mary used to make these all the time from leftover pieces of pie crust dough, but we called them Pie Cookies. It's important to roll out the dough very thin. And we always melted the butter and just brushed it on, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe took me back to my Grandmother's house, this was her favorite snack and we enjoyed it as well! Now it's something I can share with my kids as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Looks like a lot of us had moms and grandmas who put leftover pie crust to good use! Mom and Grandma just rolled the leftover dough into a circle, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon (no butter) then cut into triangles and rolled up as crescents. Or sometimes they would just spread the dough with a thin layer of jam. Either way, I "kick it up a notch" by drizzling with a simple powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I remember these from my childhood, but hadn't made them for myself until this year's Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. A great memory that still tastes as good as when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My mother made these every time she made a pie and us kids would stand and wait for them to come out of the oven. They are crisp, buttery and sweet. That was over 50 years ago and I just made some for my grandson. Just like I remembered! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States