Pie Crust Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Looks like a lot of us had moms and grandmas who put leftover pie crust to good use! Mom and Grandma just rolled the leftover dough into a circle, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon (no butter) then cut into triangles and rolled up as crescents. Or sometimes they would just spread the dough with a thin layer of jam. Either way, I "kick it up a notch" by drizzling with a simple powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I was looking for something that resembled what my mom and grandma used to make from left-over pie crust when I was a girl. We called ours 'Diddlees' and the ingredients were basically the same except we'd roll out the pie crust, spread it with butter and sprinkle on cinnamon, sugar, and raisins, then roll the crust up and cut it into slices. Then you bake them for 20 mins in a 350F/175C oven. I always looked forward to them whenever my mom baked a pie. They wre perfect with tea! Thanks for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My Aunt Mary used to make these all the time from leftover pieces of pie crust dough, but we called them Pie Cookies. It's important to roll out the dough very thin. And we always melted the butter and just brushed it on, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Carreiro Velez
Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Thanks for reminding me of these! My kids loved to make them too! We used colored sugars & they were very festive! Also try turning a small, oven-safe bown upside down - then roll out dough large enough to cover it & brush it with butter & sugar - put it sugar side down on the bowl & bake. You'll end up with a sugary crusty bowl. These are GREAT to fill with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
One of my favorite memories also, which I now do for my granddaughter. Whenever I bake pies, I take the left over crust, roll into a rectangle, cover with butter, sugar & cinnamon, OR grape jelly (my favorite) then roll up jelly roll style, slice into 2" pieces and bake on parchment paper, for easy cleanup, just in case I put too much filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
These are soooo yummy and fun to eat. Like another reviewer, we also did this with our leftover pie crusts and used butter flavored spray rather than butter. I've also made this with Splenda and it turned out good. Thanks for the cute idea Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These are fantastic made with that store bought pie crust that comes in a roll! You don't have to be making a pie. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
a great reminder of a childhood treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Just like most of the reviewers wrote, this recipe is a trip down memory lane for me as well....I took the advice from Naples34102 (thank-you) and cut mine into triangles and spread with raspberry jam and rolled it into crescents...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My mother made these every time she made a pie and us kids would stand and wait for them to come out of the oven. They are crisp, buttery and sweet. That was over 50 years ago and I just made some for my grandson. Just like I remembered! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States