Pie Crust Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
One of my fondest memories of growign up in the 70's, if you're wondering) was when my mother was baking a pie, her letting me roll out the leftover scraps of crust and cutting out shapes with my cookie cutters, brushing the shapes with milk, and sprinkling the tops with sugar and cinnamon. It's memories like those that have prompted me to be a pie-making fanatic today. I can't wait to share this secret treat with my own children. Thank you for posting this heart-warming recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Thanks for reminding me of these! My kids loved to make them too! We used colored sugars & they were very festive! Also try turning a small, oven-safe bown upside down - then roll out dough large enough to cover it & brush it with butter & sugar - put it sugar side down on the bowl & bake. You'll end up with a sugary crusty bowl. These are GREAT to fill with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
One of my favorite memories also, which I now do for my granddaughter. Whenever I bake pies, I take the left over crust, roll into a rectangle, cover with butter, sugar & cinnamon, OR grape jelly (my favorite) then roll up jelly roll style, slice into 2" pieces and bake on parchment paper, for easy cleanup, just in case I put too much filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
maybe i didn't put on enough sugar or something because they just tasted like pieces of butter. not that they weren't good. the jelly roll idea sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Wow. thanks for the recipe and the reminder from my childhood. My mom would make an extra pie crust just to make "cinnamon roll" made just like the jelly roll described, but not sliced until after it bakes and cools (reduces any mess as the sugar is sealed into the roll). Just be sure to use shortening instead of butter if you make it this way. Shortening holds its shape much better. I never liked pies as a child but I sure loved this cinnamon sugar treat. I just never knew so many others also had such great Mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My Aunt Mary used to make these all the time from leftover pieces of pie crust dough, but we called them Pie Cookies. It's important to roll out the dough very thin. And we always melted the butter and just brushed it on, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Carreiro Velez
Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
These are soooo yummy and fun to eat. Like another reviewer, we also did this with our leftover pie crusts and used butter flavored spray rather than butter. I've also made this with Splenda and it turned out good. Thanks for the cute idea Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Memmmmorriiiieees...... My mom used to make these, sans the butter, all the time when I was little. My husband never had them before, he loved them. My toddler was delighted to help. Good recipe for left-over crust-lots of possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Yummy I roll up the pie crusts like small crecent shapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Thanks for the recipe and the memories. These are so simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States