Pie Crust Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Just like most of the reviewers wrote, this recipe is a trip down memory lane for me as well....I took the advice from Naples34102 (thank-you) and cut mine into triangles and spread with raspberry jam and rolled it into crescents...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My mom used to make these for me when I was a child. She always used scraps of leftover pie crust. It is also good with scraps of leftover biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Grandma and Mom made this for us kids when we were little out of leftover pie dough. I now make them for my own kids, using the Butter Flaky Pie Crust. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
One of my favorite treats as a child given to me by my mother. I never thought of using a cookie cutter to make them pretty. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My mom used to make these all the time when she made a pie. My siblings and I used to love these! It was a special treat for us. I am so glad I found a recipe that is just like the ones she used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe took me back to my Grandmother's house, this was her favorite snack and we enjoyed it as well! Now it's something I can share with my kids as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My mother made these every time she made a pie and us kids would stand and wait for them to come out of the oven. They are crisp, buttery and sweet. That was over 50 years ago and I just made some for my grandson. Just like I remembered! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I remember these from my childhood, but hadn't made them for myself until this year's Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. A great memory that still tastes as good as when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Looks like a lot of us had moms and grandmas who put leftover pie crust to good use! Mom and Grandma just rolled the leftover dough into a circle, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon (no butter) then cut into triangles and rolled up as crescents. Or sometimes they would just spread the dough with a thin layer of jam. Either way, I "kick it up a notch" by drizzling with a simple powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I was looking for something that resembled what my mom and grandma used to make from left-over pie crust when I was a girl. We called ours 'Diddlees' and the ingredients were basically the same except we'd roll out the pie crust, spread it with butter and sprinkle on cinnamon, sugar, and raisins, then roll the crust up and cut it into slices. Then you bake them for 20 mins in a 350F/175C oven. I always looked forward to them whenever my mom baked a pie. They wre perfect with tea! Thanks for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States