Pie Crust Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The taste was amazing, but it was so hard for me to work with it, I thought 4 stars would be my judging. I wonder if the lard should have been cold so maybe that was my problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have used some pastry recipes in my time, but this one is the best. I didn't have lard, just shortening. I couldn't figure out how to measure it in lbs, so I just kind of eyeballed it, about 3cups. Followed the recipe except for that. Made it for turkey pot pie (leftovers), but I will use this for pies as well. Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Extremely simple and quick. I don't have lard, so I used butter flavored shortening instead, and I only made enough for one pie crust. It worked perfectly with the Cranberry Streusel Pie I made. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
It was very good I used butter insted of lard it came out very well! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good recipe! Great to be able to store the mix for use later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Crosby
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe! I've never successfully made pie crust before (always turns out wrong) but this recipe made it easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was great! Will use it again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this recipe using butter flavored crisco instead of the lard and it was wonderful. I also used self-rising flour so I didn't need to measure the baking powder and salt. I will make this one again and again. I used it for fruit pies, pumpkin pie, and chicken pot pie. It is SO versitle. It is SO flaky. I don't know how long the mix will keep because it was such a hit that I keep using it all up. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Easy to make, tasted great in an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Makes a decent crust, and I love the make ahead part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States