Pie Crust Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made this exactly as called for. I used mix and 4 tablespoons instead of five to make two crusts. THE BEST CRUST I HAVE EVER TASTED!!! THANK YOU!! the crust I made for 2 9 inch pie crusts made almost enough for enough for 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I upped my ingredients to 1 tbsp salt & 1 tbsp baking powder which seemed like the correct adjustments. Other than that great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious for fruit pies, and chicken pot pie! Makes cooking pies so easy to have in 'fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is the only pie crust I have ever made and I can't understand why people think crust-making is difficult. I have never added the baking powder, where are you expecting it to rise to? NEVER make another pie crust, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This came together so easily. I stored mine in a gallon sized freezer storage bag. My daughter and I were able to scale back the mix proportions so that she could make tiny pies for her easy bake oven. I used the lard as the recipe called for but am trying it tonight with shortening to compare. A true winner for a pie novice like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I will take responsibility here however, the directions could have been more precise. I used the lard based on the recipe (one pound) but I guess it was too much... My crust was mushy and I never could get it up to par no matter how much flour I added. I managed to get it in the pie plate and it never baked through. After cooling, the taste was not good. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
well, i´m giving three stars just because it really made a pie shell. Ohterwise wouldn´t give any star at all. Everyone´s writing how flaky and yummy it was. Well, I´m of a diffenent opinion. It was flaky, but just because It was completely dried out, with no taste at all. I was very dissapointed by this recipe. Well I was a little surprised that there´s basically just fat and flour but when I saw all the great ratings I thought I could try it ouy. Well, I did and it was tha laest try out of this recipe. Know much tastier pie crust recipes, containing eggs, milk and a little bit of sugar which gives your pie shell a flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Easy mix to make and handy to have around. I used vegetable shortening and did need to add a little more than 5 tbsp. of water to make it manageable, but the crust came out tasty and flaky. This definitely will become my standard crust recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States