Pie Crust Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
GOODNESS at its finest!! I would have never considered lard in the past but I am NEVER going to make another pie crust.It is beyond awesome and it redefines the word "flaky" in context to a pie crust. I would give it a 10 if I could!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used shortening with mine only because I have family members that do not eat lard. It came out pretty good--I had to add a little more flour though since the consistancy was a little different. Haven't actually eaten the pie yet but it rolled out fairly well and looks really good. Will repost rating on how it taste at later time. Thanks for the short-cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was exactly the recipe I needed. I've now shared it with the rest of the women in the family who sometimes are rushed as well. My only mistake was after rolling out the crust, I put it in the fridge, and didn't take it out to let it come to room temp before working with it. So it was falling apart. Luckily that didn't matter so much for what I needed it for. I will continue to use this recipe for many more pies and dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this recipe using butter flavored crisco instead of the lard and it was wonderful. I also used self-rising flour so I didn't need to measure the baking powder and salt. I will make this one again and again. I used it for fruit pies, pumpkin pie, and chicken pot pie. It is SO versitle. It is SO flaky. I don't know how long the mix will keep because it was such a hit that I keep using it all up. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is great and very workable. I opted for a mix of whole wheat and white flour to give it more health benefits and some texture. It's beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the best pie crust I have ever made and tasted. It rolled out easily too. It was flaky and it just melted in your mouth. I brought this pie to work and everyone couldn't stop talking about it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe was my first attempt at a homemade pie crust. I have always used frozen ready made crust with no complaints. It was christmas eve and i had no frozen crust on hand and no open stores to go get one, so i tried this recipe since it seemed the simplest and am i ever glad i did. This is an awesome crust and soooo simple. I will not ever use a frozen crust again. Thank you so much for this GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is absolutely awesome. Better than having pre made in the freezer. Very good texture. Easy to use. Great being able to take what you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I will take responsibility here however, the directions could have been more precise. I used the lard based on the recipe (one pound) but I guess it was too much... My crust was mushy and I never could get it up to par no matter how much flour I added. I managed to get it in the pie plate and it never baked through. After cooling, the taste was not good. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe! I've never successfully made pie crust before (always turns out wrong) but this recipe made it easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States