Pie Crust Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just made this exactly as called for. I used mix and 4 tablespoons instead of five to make two crusts. THE BEST CRUST I HAVE EVER TASTED!!! THANK YOU!! the crust I made for 2 9 inch pie crusts made almost enough for enough for 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I upped my ingredients to 1 tbsp salt & 1 tbsp baking powder which seemed like the correct adjustments. Other than that great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious for fruit pies, and chicken pot pie! Makes cooking pies so easy to have in 'fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is the only pie crust I have ever made and I can't understand why people think crust-making is difficult. I have never added the baking powder, where are you expecting it to rise to? NEVER make another pie crust, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This came together so easily. I stored mine in a gallon sized freezer storage bag. My daughter and I were able to scale back the mix proportions so that she could make tiny pies for her easy bake oven. I used the lard as the recipe called for but am trying it tonight with shortening to compare. A true winner for a pie novice like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I will take responsibility here however, the directions could have been more precise. I used the lard based on the recipe (one pound) but I guess it was too much... My crust was mushy and I never could get it up to par no matter how much flour I added. I managed to get it in the pie plate and it never baked through. After cooling, the taste was not good. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
well, i´m giving three stars just because it really made a pie shell. Ohterwise wouldn´t give any star at all. Everyone´s writing how flaky and yummy it was. Well, I´m of a diffenent opinion. It was flaky, but just because It was completely dried out, with no taste at all. I was very dissapointed by this recipe. Well I was a little surprised that there´s basically just fat and flour but when I saw all the great ratings I thought I could try it ouy. Well, I did and it was tha laest try out of this recipe. Know much tastier pie crust recipes, containing eggs, milk and a little bit of sugar which gives your pie shell a flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Easy mix to make and handy to have around. I used vegetable shortening and did need to add a little more than 5 tbsp. of water to make it manageable, but the crust came out tasty and flaky. This definitely will become my standard crust recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States