Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is now my go -to pie crust recipe - flaky and perfect. I use lard (or occasionally butter) and have used up to half whole wheat flour with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I substituted butter for the shortening and milk for the water. Turned out great. Nice and flaky. Definitely going to become my go-to crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwootton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinte West, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a foolproof recipe for a great pie crust! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jan Bittner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This worked out gorgeously. It didn't take me that long to whip up, it tasted awesome and the recipe was very versatile. I can't really see how you can go wrong with this- If it's crumble-ey, add more water. If you add a little too much and it's too moist, rub it with some flour and use it for the top crust. I recommend making two separate batches- first batch for the bottom crust and the second batch for the top crust. This is my go-to recipe for crusts! Don't ask me why you'd wanna (impulse, maybe?), but this crust also works/tastes well with flavorings added. I added butter flavoring and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Successful the 2nd time. Good recipe, my mom loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I usually never make pie crusts correctly... Until this recipe. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is the pastry recipe that will stay in my personal collection. The ingredients are simple, the preparation is quick and easy, and the results are light and flaky and delicious every time. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This crust is so easy and it comes out light and flaky… perfect! I doubled the recipe to use it for the "Apple Pie by Grandma Ople" from this website, and it worked great with that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
When my grandmother complimented me on this pie crust (made with Apple Pie by Grandma Ople recipe) during Thanksgiving I knew that following this recipe exactly was key. Her pies in back in the days were too die for. I will use this recipe over and over again. Thank you! *I recommend watching the video tutorial for newbies - helped me a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This crust is so great. It compliments all kinds of pie filling. When I baked my first apple pie, thought the pie filling is a little bit disastrous but the crust make up on my failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States