Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is so easy and came out great! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I've tried lots of pie crust recipes. This one is the best! The last crust I made was so crumbly, so I wanted to try a different blend. I measured the flour and shortening by weight, using the equivalents on this site. Perfect. So easy to handle, and transfered from rolling mat to pie plate without a single rip or tear. This one goes to the top of the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
this recipe is a no fail recipe. what ever tools you have, it works perfectly. if u use a pastry blender, fork, food processor, or even your hand, you'll get good results. you can substitute the shortening with butter and it works great. i like the fact that you dont have to freeze it, but if you want to, it tastes just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChEfInTrAiNiNg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Thank you for giving me this recipe! I always have a hard time baking. This crust was not very difficult. I tried to be gentle as you suggest and it looks great. There will be more pies made in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Always perfect, never fails. I've never made just one pie crust with this, I'm always doubling or quadrupling it at least, and I always seem to have way more dough than I need. Last time I quadrupled it for four pie crusts, and actually got 3 double crust pies out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This pie crust is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow. It turned out perfectly and I did not alter a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yay! My mom said, "You only have 10 minutes to put that pie together." It took me a little longer to do the pumpkin...but not much!!! I don't recommend microwaving the butter but I was in a rush and did and it still worked out wonderful. I didn't use ice. I can see how someone could add sugar for some sweetness or orange juice instead of water..but my family liked it. It was light and fluffy. I barely handled it...barely mixed it all together...it went together quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I use this recipe every time. Don't tell my grandmother, but I it tastes better than even her pie crust. The only change I make is I substitute rendered beef fat for the shortening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Perfect! I forgot to take pictures of my pretty lattice crusted pies (apple, peach, and raspberry). I have never been able to make a good pie crust no matter how hard I've tried and I do a lot of cooking. So I decided to try this simple recipe and follow it verbatim. I didn't want to experiment and make any changes before seeing how this recipe turned out. Not only was it the best crust I've ever made, but it was the best I've ever tasted. I saw a review saying that it was too greasy and tender and my crusts (top or bottom) didn't turn out that way at all. All crisp and flaky and so much better than frozen pie crusts. I was very careful to only add just enough water for the dough to hold together and I think that was the biggest key to success. P.S. This recipe is enough to make one bottom or top crust, so you'd have to double it for a double-crusted pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States