Pie Crust IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yay! My mom said, "You only have 10 minutes to put that pie together." It took me a little longer to do the pumpkin...but not much!!! I don't recommend microwaving the butter but I was in a rush and did and it still worked out wonderful. I didn't use ice. I can see how someone could add sugar for some sweetness or orange juice instead of water..but my family liked it. It was light and fluffy. I barely handled it...barely mixed it all together...it went together quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I use this recipe every time. Don't tell my grandmother, but I it tastes better than even her pie crust. The only change I make is I substitute rendered beef fat for the shortening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Perfect! I forgot to take pictures of my pretty lattice crusted pies (apple, peach, and raspberry). I have never been able to make a good pie crust no matter how hard I've tried and I do a lot of cooking. So I decided to try this simple recipe and follow it verbatim. I didn't want to experiment and make any changes before seeing how this recipe turned out. Not only was it the best crust I've ever made, but it was the best I've ever tasted. I saw a review saying that it was too greasy and tender and my crusts (top or bottom) didn't turn out that way at all. All crisp and flaky and so much better than frozen pie crusts. I was very careful to only add just enough water for the dough to hold together and I think that was the biggest key to success. P.S. This recipe is enough to make one bottom or top crust, so you'd have to double it for a double-crusted pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I use this recipe to make mini apple pies an electric pie maker. It was quick, easy, and came out very flaky and tasty. I especially like that the dough did not have to be refrigerated for any time to rest before rolling and baking. I will definitely be using this recipe in the future. I'm looking forward to trying butter instead of shortening. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have always used our family recipe and it is tough to work with. I tried this one today making the tiny pie crust for mini pumpkin pies. I will never go back to the family recipe again this is so easy ! It rolled out perfectly was so easy to make! Sarah B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have tried all versions of the popular pie crust recipes on the site, and I have yet to master crust making. I know that the fault is with my lack of experience and technique rather than the recipes. I tried this recipe yesterday, and it was easier to work with than most. The most difficult part for me is moving the dough to the pan, so thank you to the reviewer who suggested rolling it out in parchment paper. That made it so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is now my go -to pie crust recipe - flaky and perfect. I use lard (or occasionally butter) and have used up to half whole wheat flour with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I substituted butter for the shortening and milk for the water. Turned out great. Nice and flaky. Definitely going to become my go-to crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwootton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinte West, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a foolproof recipe for a great pie crust! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jan Bittner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This worked out gorgeously. It didn't take me that long to whip up, it tasted awesome and the recipe was very versatile. I can't really see how you can go wrong with this- If it's crumble-ey, add more water. If you add a little too much and it's too moist, rub it with some flour and use it for the top crust. I recommend making two separate batches- first batch for the bottom crust and the second batch for the top crust. This is my go-to recipe for crusts! Don't ask me why you'd wanna (impulse, maybe?), but this crust also works/tastes well with flavorings added. I added butter flavoring and it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States