Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is so easy. The cold water does need to be very cold. The key is to not over handle the dough. This recipe can be frozen and used at a later time. I also refrigerated overnight and got good results. I love being able to use canola rather than butter or shortening. I also love the ease of just pushing into the pie pan rather than rolling out. When I do roll out, I find it is easiest to roll out between to pieces of plastic wrap. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
wow Im impressed! I was searching for a recipe that didnt use shortening or lard as I had none. I came across this and glad I tried it. It tastes very good! So simple. I didnt roll it or use plastic wrap. I just balled it up then pressed it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
i love this crust! make sure the h2o is really cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good. Considering there is no butter or shortening, it's super super easy. I did 4 stars because I added a dash of salt and a few sprinkles of sugar, figuring that would make it better since I was making a dessert. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This pie crust you can't go wrong with. Easy to roll out and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
After ruining a ready pie crust in the middle of preparing a steak and ale pie, I scrambled to find a crust that would be quick and that didn't involve shortening or butter (as I was out of both). I whipped this up in 10 minutes flat. As I stuck the pie in the oven, I was convinced that I had ruined the whole dish. I didn't have time to read the other reviews, so I followed the recipe exactly. After eating his dinner, my husband proclaimed that I should be making the crust myself from now on, as mine was better than Pillsbury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This pie crust is delicious! I made it several times exactly as the recipe stated. Then I made it and added 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. sugar as others suggested. I will ALWAYS add the salt and sugar to the recipe. I noticed an improvement and found the dough to be easier to work with. EXCELLENT and VERY EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I give it 5 stars for being easy, for tasting good, and for cooking properly despite being so wet. With that said, this was not exactly what I was looking for. I needed a pie crust that could be folded over a filling, and this was not it. This is a VERY fragile dough. I'll use this again, but only for single crust pies, as it's much too difficult to move around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Never Again. Way too oily. The dough literally melted down into the bottom of the pie pan and I had to take it out and add more flour and start over TWICE! Where oh where is that oil crust recipe Betty Crocker had in its 1960's cookbook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made my own chicken pot pie filling from leftover roasted chicken drippings and needed a savory crust to go along with it. I decided to try this recipe and oh my goodness did this crust make it the best chicken pot pie I have ever tasted (this was my first time making pot pie at home)! My German husband, who had never eaten a pot pie, said it was delicious and ate 1/2 the pie himself! It was a bit greasy when I was rolling it out but the easy fix for that is to just sprinkle some flour on top. I rolled the dough on baking paper, then placed it the pan and added the filling. Then I rolled out the top crust on plastic wrap and transfered it to the pie. I didn't have canola oil so I used sunflower oil instead and it still tasted great! The dough was greasy to work with but definitely easy and quick! I will use this recipe from now on for all my savory pies and quiches. Thank you GAF55 for sharing this wonderful recipe! UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the bottom crust WAS COOKED ALL THE WAY THROUGH!!! Just check while baking and leave it in the oven on the bottom rack until done. If you're worried about the top burning than cover with aluminum foil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States