Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I'm not usually a huge fan of pie crust because it is dry, but this was perfect and so simple to make. I also added 1 Tbsp of sugar. The recipe as is does not make 2 pie crusts. If you want 2, make 1 1/2 of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
We used this crust for our favorite apple pie recipe yesterday and what a hit! I used all 100% whole wheat flour for it and it was excellent! (I also added 2 tsp. unrefined sugar, 1 tsp. sea salt.) 5 stars for flakiness, taste, simplicity and on the dough being easy to work with. I couldn't ask for more! Thank you so much for this one, GAF55. Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was amazing! I mixed everything and put it in the freezer for 5-10 minutes, then rolled between plastic wrap. Why didn't I think of plastic wrap before?! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Needs salt, but otherwise a nice flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I was making a tomato pie so I added some fresh ground pepper to the crust, and used olive oil instead of canola and it was a hit! Very simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I like this, it is cheaper and simpler to make than the standard shortening or butter crust. It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
HURRAH! It only took 35 years to make a beautiful pie. I could make them taste good, flake good but tough to look great until now. I finally made a pie that was not patched. lol. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a great quick pie crust. Needed a crust in a pinch and was able to get this done in about 5 minutes. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added 1 tsp sugar and 1 tsp salt to the flour. I would recommend adding only 1/4 tsp salt as the crust was very salty. Also, this made about a crust and a half for me. Not the double it yeilds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was so easy and tasted awesome.I tweaked the recipe by adding sugar, salt and a bit of cinnamon. Very flaky and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by writersam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was flaky (brittle actually), and I meant to add the salt and sugar like others recommended. But I completely forgot the extra ingredients and as a result, the crust didn't have a good flavor on it's own. Thankfully the sweet strawberry filling I made covered that up. Next time I will add the salt and sugar and I bet it will not need filling to taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States