Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is the easiest pie crust that I ever made but I did add salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is the easiest and tastest pie crust I have ever made. After many unsuccesful attempts 20+ years ago I have buying my pie crusts at the market. This was easy and it rolled out perfectly between the waxed paper sheets. I won't be buying my pie crust any longer. The only reason I even tried this was because I was making the Scottish mince pie from this site and didn't realize I only had one crust in the fridge and needed two; so of course I came to my favorite website and found this. Thank you so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
HI! This a great recipe. Since plastic wrap and I seem to have issues when rolling out crust, I use waxed paper. It is so easy and forgiving. I have used this recipe about 10 times now and each time it has come out perfect. I did add salt as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Thanks for posting this! When I was in college, I knew a girl who made crusts with oil, no butter or shortening. I've since lost track of her, and now that I have to cut my saturated fats, I was delighted to find your recipe. I just tried it (halved the recipe, for one single-crust pie), and it rolls out a lot easier than the "usual" shortening-based recipe. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Linda, you rock! This was so easy. I've never made pie crust because I didn't want to go through all the work, but I'll never use store-bought again. I tried yours because it called for oil. I substituted olive oil and added 3/4 teaspoon salt; also followed the instructions of an earlier review, stirring together flour & salt and adding the oil & water after whisking it together. It worked a dream and was delicious and flaky. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Good, but very plain. Can be used for savory or sweet with no alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I would not use this recipe again. It wasn't inedible but there are definitely better recipes out there. I was drawn to this recipe for its simplicity but I found out the hard way that trying to cut corners ended up costing me more time in the end. The crust was extremely susceptible to tearing and rather than turning out flaky, it was crispy and overly oily. It was a mess to roll out even with the plastic wrap and it tore numerous of times. By the time I finally transferred the crust into the pan, I was so fed up that I just gave up and slapped the strips of my lattice top on the pie haphazardly. I really did want this recipe to work out as I had wanted something without butter and it looked so easy but unfortunately this is not the recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
What a surprise - the crust was so flaky and tasty. I followed other suggestions and added just under a teaspoon of salt and half a tablespoon of sugar and scaled the recipe up to 10 servings to fit a 9" deep dish. It was incredibly easy to roll out between plastic wrap, but it was tricky to transfer. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
perfect pie crust!! even worked after i left it in the pie pan overnight in the refridgerator! i used LPATERNO's suggestions and it came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
So simple but so flakey and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States