Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this and added the salt and sugar as mentioned in the reviews. I used it with a sweet potato filling. The pie crust was very easy to make which is why I tried it, but tasted very salty. It wasn't that good and I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
wow!!!!!! I too added a little sugar and salt to the mix and this was fabulous. It is amazing that something so easy tastes this great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I loved this! It was my first time making pie alone. I tried this because it looked easy and fast. It turned out great, I love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the best pie crust recipe I have ever tried!! However, some adjustments should be made to get the best results...use butter instead of oil, and add about 1/2 cup of sugar with a cup of flour...(or about 50% of flour) add some vanilla extract to spice up the flavor as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I added 1t sugar and 1t salt and used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour. I also mixed the 6T of water with the oil before adding it to the flour mixture. I pressed it into two pie plates for quiches...delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is now my stanmdard go-to recipe for pie crust - it has become a firm family favorite! I usually add 1 tsp salt and, if it is for a sweet pie, 1 tbsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My first time making homemade pie crust was a success thanks to this recipe! I kept hearing how tricky they can be, so I was fairly scared going into it, but the dough was very easy to work with. I felt like the taste once baked needed something. Sugar or salt depending on the dish would probably take care of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This crust was very tender and flaky just as stated by other reviewers. I followed Paulap's advice and put everything in the freezer including the oil. I also added 1tsp each of salt and sugar to the flour as many others suggested. When you wisk the oil and ice water together, it will turn white, then add it slowly to the flour. If you have a dough hook attachment on your mixer, this dough comes together in a few minutes. Very easy! I was surprised at how good it baked. I used the crust for the Luscious Chicken Pot Pie recipe on this site and it was excellent! The crust browned evenly on top and bottom, no soggy crust here. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks, Linda, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The FIRST pie crust I've ever made to perfection! The crust was flaky and flavorful. Don't worry about the dough being sticky - it still works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Used butter instead of oil and added 2tbsp of sugar and 1tsp of salt very easy to roll and taste wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States