Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 1999
I love this pie crust recipe and I use it every time I make a pie. I do mess with it a little to suit the type of pie I am making. for fruit pies I like to add a couple tablespoons of sugar, and for savory pies I like to add black pepper and sometimes some dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I've made this twice now, and it works, but I docked it one star because it does NOT take 6 tablespoons of water. The dough is WAY too dry that way. It uses more like 8 or 9 tablespoons. Also, there's ALMOST not quite enough dough for a basic 9 inch pie. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I'm rolling it out pretty darn thin, and I find it dosen't quite reach the edges of my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desireebyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Easiest and quickest recipe I have found recently since you don't HAVE to refrigerate. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
The best pie crust I ever made. I used it for a rhubarb pie that one 1st prize at a rhubarb festival. I freeze enough water until it has ice crystals before starting the crust, then roll it thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Spring City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
This comes out perfect every time I make it...light and flaky. I've used it for berry pies, apple pies and even chicken pot pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I really liked how easy and non tiring to make. I made the crust for a apple pie recipe. I made 2 pie crusts just like the recipe calls for and i used the top portion of the crust and sliced it in long peice and criss-crossed the top of the pie. I then brushed a egg yolk on top of crust for browning. It looked fabulous, it looked better the store bought. I was so proud of it I took digital pics of it. But the bottom crust was all soggy and doughy, even after a few day refridration. The apples filling was not one bit soggy to cause the bottom of the crust to come out like that. I will use this recipe again but maybe bake it for a while before I continue filling it. Thanks Brenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
There was nothing great about this recipe. I used it for a few pies, and I hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Amazing flavor; we used this for Blueberry Pie from this site, and the crust was just right even without any added sugar. I had some trouble rolling it without the dough sticking to the pin and the countertop, probably due to my inexperience, but even pieced together it looked beautiful and tasted light and flaky. Per another review, I used a light egg wash and a little sugar on top before baking, which added to the appearance. Baked for 50 minutes, covered with foil the last 15 minutes, and the results were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The hubby loved it, but i felt it was to salty. Next time i will cut out the salt all together. BUT i gave it 4 stars because the bottom wasn't soggy and i was even able to warm it up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This crust was easy to make. I chilled the dough before rolling out. I was able to roll it very thin! Great recipe, I'll use it again and again and . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States