Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Love this pie crust!! Turns out great every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach Angle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is my go-to pie crust recipe. It is plain, easy, and fast. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Robbins, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
A huge hit with blueberries. Was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is now my flagship crust. From chicken pot pie to apple pie, it's always great. Flaky yet moist, even when the pie is a few days old..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a very easy and quick basic pie crust recipe. I halved the recipe for a one crust pie and used exactly 3T of ice water. Thanks for the recipe, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Had to double the recipe to get the amount needed for my pie. I also had to add more water to keep it from crumbling. It tasted delicious but the directions and measurements as written seem off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe! It gets only 4 stars because I actually modified the recipe a bit... because I never cook with shortening. Instead I used 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup coconut oil. I only have to use 5 tablespoons of water and don't have to put it in the fridge. My mother-in-law just said it was the best crust she'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made the mistake of deviating away from these proportions today and the resulting pie crust turned out horrible. I then realized that I should rate THIS pie crust - my go to proportions that taught me how to make a proper, flaky crust. I don't think there is a better pie crust recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very basic pie crust that anyone can make, even if for the first time. However, I have a real problem with pie crust recipes when they use ONLY shortening. You HAVE to use a little bit of butter for a good tasting pie. Now I'm not saying don't use shortening at all, shortening is good at making the crust flaky, but if you just use shortening, it's going to have a funny chemical taste to it. Some reviews here mentioned this crust was too salty, but that's actually the shortening they're tasting. If you're butter conscious, then at least use butter flavored shortening. Real unsalted butter is a LOT better, of course. One other tip might be to add vinegar or lemon juice to the water that you use. Do this especially if you don't use shortening at all so that you can still get that flaky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krackah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Giessen, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Perfect pie crust.Good texture and turns golden brown.I will continue to use this crust when baking pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States