Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My mom's crust recipe, and Gram's before her. Of course, Gram used lard, and you can too, if you want the ultimate in pie crust. :) I cheat and use my electric mixer rather then a pastry blender- it's faster and easier- just blend on a low speed till the mixture resembles...corn meal? Sort of like that. It only takes a minute or so. This recipe really should make enough for 2 crusts, but if you're using deep dishes, you may want to add a third to it- 3 cups flour, 1 cup shortening, etc. And definitely add your water a tablespoon at a time- different types of flour, differing humidities, and so on will all affect the amount of water needed. The less you handle it after adding water, the flakier and more tender it will be. My sister now uses half butter, half Crisco, and swears by it- I'll try that today. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a great pie crust recipe. Though the amount was just barely enough for a thin crust. Maybe try increasing the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
First time I have ever made a pie crust from scratch. The crust was almost like a bread-y cracker, if that makes sense! lol Followed the recipe to a T and it is ESSENTIAL to mix the water one tablespoon at a time and wait until its fully incorporated before adding the next. I put it on my pie plate and let it sit in the fridge while I worked on my filling. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A bit bland and I could taste the shortening. Kids didn't like it. Next time I may add a tablespoon of sugar and maybe use butter flavor shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I had the hardest time rolling out this crust. I used 7 tbsp of water, as it was very stiff with 6. It kept tearing, and the edges frayed, and I ended up piecing it together best I could. Not the most user-friendly pie crust I've ever tried. However, I used butter flavor Crisco and the flavor was excellent and very flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used the multiplier to make crusts for 6 pies, beware the amt of water you use when doubling this recipe better to work by tablespoons when adding. Also bagged up the dough and refrigerated over night then rolls out each crust while keeping the others in the fridge - easy as pie! Stuck to the rolling pin only a couple of times out of 6crusts - I'm saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I loved this crust. I use it now for all my pie baking. One reveiw said they only got one crust but they must have done something wrong because I have always gotten two crust out of it. This is the best I have tried and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I used butter rather than shortening. Otherwise, it was exactly what I wanted - a basic crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent ! Very easy and tasty, Just don't play with the dough a lot or it will crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I've made this a few times and EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States